Skip to content

Farm-Fresh Asparagus and Poached Eggs

April 13, 2010

This past weekend at the farmer’s market was one of the most successful trips I’ve had in a while.  The Del Ray farmer’s market really isn’t all that big, and all winter long, until this past weekend, there was no produce to be found.  Yeah, the meat guy was there, and there was the dude selling Amish stuff, and there were maybe 4 different stands with baked goods, but no produce.  But on Saturday my most favorite pastry stand, the one that makes pastries filled with chocolate and almond paste, finally came back after a winter-long hiatus.  And there was asparagus!  ASPARAGUS!!!!! 

They had just picked it the night before, so it was as fresh as it gets if you don’t have your own garden.  And it was the farm’s very first batch of asparagus for the season, which makes it extra-special.  It’s amazing (some would say sad) how much joy you can get from a fresh vegetable.  The best part about cooking this asparagus was that I literally just had to throw it in a pan with some oil and salt– no prep work required what-so-ever.  None.  I didn’t have to break off the woody stems because first-batch asparagus has no woody stems.

I had grand plans for an asparagus salad that I was going to make myself for dinner, but my keys to the apartment had mysteriously disappeared so I couldn’t go anywhere   I was thus effectively trapped in the apartment and, since I had to go to the grocery store to make said salad, I needed to find an alternative. 

I really don’t know what it is with poached eggs nowadays, but they are everywhere, including here.  And it was the perfect accompaniment to my lightly-charred-but-barely-cooked asparagus.  I sautéed the asparagus at high heat to keep them crunchy and I dressed it all up a little with some truffle salt. 

[An aside on truffle salt: it is the best salt ever.  I would go to the store and open the $25 container of truffle salt just to sniff it, and I would make whoever came to the store with me sniff it too.  Then my mom visited and she must have decided my behavior was a little pathetic, because she bought me my very own container of truffle salt! It's the most expensive thing in our kitchen.]

The asparagus was crunchy and sweet, and the poached egg was…. I don’t really know how to describe it.  “Really nice” comes to mind, and so does “creamy and runny,” and those don’t quite fit the bill.  Suffice to say that the egg was really good.  I may have licked my plate.  I admit nothing. 

Asparagus and Poached Eggs

This is one of those things that you really don’t need a recipe for.  Basically, saute or grill some asparagus until it’s al dente and while that’s on the fire, poach an eggVoila!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. offwhiteliving permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:05 pm

    looks wonderful. Breakfast is my favorite meal. Still learning how to poach an egg, so now I have some inspiration. Thanks for sharing,
    Rebecca

    • July 9, 2010 4:53 pm

      Thanks! It took me a while to figure out egg poaching, but once you learn the trick of getting the water swirling like a whirlpool, it’s so much easier! And thanks for checking out my blog :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

