Skip to content

Salami and Arugula Pizza

June 15, 2010

I may have mentioned this before, but I love pizza.  It was the first thing I ever blogged about and I could easily eat it every meal for the rest of my life.  However, one thing I do not love is salad (gag).  So, imagine my surprise when I discovered that arugula (a loathed salady vegetable) is fan-frickin-tastic on pizza.  I’m telling you: it’s a life-changer.

Turns out that making pizza is also an excellent way to use up left-over veggies, meats and cheeses.  But I’ll have to write about that some other time because I only took pictures of the arugula pizza.  In this case, we had some left-over salami (finocchiona, to be precise) and a bag of arugula from the farmer’s market that was starting to look a little sad. 

The trick to making arugula pizza (or any pizza with a leafy green) is to bake the pizza and to put the arugula on afterwards.  That picture up there is of the pizza just after it came out of the oven.  There’s salami on only two-thirds of it because I ran out of salami.  Remember, this started as a quest to use up left-overs.  Anywho, immediately after the pizza comes out of the oven, toss on a couple handfuls of arugula, grate on some parmesan, let it all sit for about 5 minutes (it’s too hot to eat at this point anyways– trust me here), the arugula gets a little wilty and then you’re all set!  My stomach is grumbling just from looking at these pictures, although maybe that’s also because it’s lunch time.  And guess what I’m having for lunch?  Pizza!  True story.  Although it’s Papa John’s because, as great (and cheap!) as home-made pizza is, sometimes it’s nice to have someone else do all the work!

Salami and Arugula Pizza

You can use just about any meat for this pizza– prosciutto is also great.  For tomato sauce, I just use a can of whole San Marzano tomatoes (look for the ones that say D.O.P. on the label, otherwise they’re not actually from San Marzano), break them up with my fingers and throw in some salt. 

1 recipe pizza dough (as hesitant as I am to provide that link, I’m also too lazy to rewrite it all.  Just keep in mind that it was my first post, thereby it’s also crappy.)

tomato sauce

grated mozzarella cheese

thinly sliced salami

several handfuls of arugula

After your dough as risen, you’ve heated your oven (and pizza stone, if you have one), and you’ve shaped your dough to the size you want, spread on a thin layer of sauce and sprinkle sparingly with cheese.  Add on the salami and put the pizza in the oven for about 10 minutes, or until the crust is browned and the cheese is bubbly.  Remove from oven, sprinkle with arugula and parmesan cheese, let sit for about 5 minutes, slice and enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    June 15, 2010 1:25 pm

    Okay, so you use a pizza stone… How do you keep it from sticking and getting weird when it’s preheated and you need to roll out your dough? Or do you roll it out to size on a pastry mat/something first? I haven’t tried that yet – I have enough time flipping omelets and pancakes; I don’t need to worry about getting a 12″ pizza dough transferred without adding holes or burning myself!

    • June 15, 2010 5:57 pm

      It actually took a lot of practice and learning what NOT to do… the best way is to roll out the dough on flour and then when you’re ready to put on the toppings, place the dough on a cornmeal-sprinkled baking sheet with no edges or a large cutting board. The thing is that flour burns in the oven and the cornmeal doesn’t (at least not as much), which I discovered after repeatedly setting off the fire alarm and then a comment on one of my previous entries turned me on to the cornmeal. It’s also important to quickly put the toppings on, and to use toppings sparingly, so that the pizza doesn’t get too moist and stick to the pan. Or you could put the dough on parchment paper and put the parchment paper on the stone (having trimmed the edges) but your crust won’t be as crispy. I could go on, but I’ll stop now :-)

  2. June 18, 2010 9:33 am

    Great pizza! I also love arugula on a homemade pizza, but I like to add it to the pie BEFORE it goes into the oven. I use a stone, and heat my oven to about 500 degrees, the pizza takes about 7-8 minutes to cook up perfect. Here is a link to my almost perfect caramelized onion, fig, goat cheese and arugula pizza, you should try it, its awesome!

  3. July 9, 2010 10:03 am

    How funny…I have pretty much the same opinions on pizza and salad, but I love arugula on pizza, too! I went to Europe last year and had it on a few pizzas there, and they are still some of the best I’ve ever had!

    • July 9, 2010 4:55 pm

      Thinking about that pizza again is making me hungry! I’m tempted to buy more arugula just to have an excuse to make more pizza :-) Thanks for checking out my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy One Year Blogiversary! « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

