Skip to content

Happy One Year Blogiversary!

July 26, 2010

I can’t believe it’s already been a year.  Time flies when you’re having fun!  Hopefully I can keep this blog going for many more years to come (if Nate will continue to tolerate the incessant picture-taking), and in the mean time, here’s a list of some of my favorite recipes from each month that Just Eat It has been around.  And no, it’s not a list of all my favorite deserts, although some are definitely included. :-)

August 2009: Peanut Butter Marshmallow Brownies
This is one of the best-loved deserts I have ever made: marshmallowy gooey brownies with chunks of peanut butter… what’s not to like?

September 2009: Steamed Crabs
Everyone living near the Chesapeake Bay needs to do this at least once.  Steamed crabs are a lot of work, but definitely worth the effort! The whole process of buying live crabs, taking them home, keeping them alive until you steam them (I put them in the bathtub), transporting them to the kitchen, steaming them, and finally getting to enjoy the fruits of your labor is a great way to while away a Saturday! 

October 2009: Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Nothing says October like pumpkins, and these “whoopie pies” are kind of like pumpkin oreos.  One of my coworkers asked me to make her these cookies for her birthday, but that was a couple months ago so I made strawberry cupcakes instead.  I’m sure she’ll be excited when autumn comes around and I make these again! 

November 2009: Double Chocolate Torte
Just what you need around Thanksgiving: another desert recipe!  I made this cake for my birthday (no one else was going to), and it was one of the most chocolatey yummy cakes ever.  Luckily I still have several months before I need to decide on this year’s birthday cake!

December 2009: Pot Roast with Mushrooms and Tomatoes
We welcomed a Dutch oven into our kitchen and started making many wonderful things, including pot roasts, beef short ribs and no-knead bread… perfect winter fare! 

January 2010: Ham, Bean and Beer Soup
A perfect way to use up that New Year’s ham and to stay warm, we doubled the recipe and ate this soup for weeks, and never once did I get tired of it!  For someone who loathes left-overs, that’s quite the statement.

February 2010: Homemade Saltines
Who knew homemade crackers could be so fantastic?  These are easy to make, and definitely worth the effort!  Come on… it’s February, so it’s not like you have anything better to do.

March 2010: Stuffed Artichokes
One of the best ways to cook artichokes, these puppies are a meal in themselves. Artichokes are in season during the early spring, and if you’re tired of just steaming them, give this a try! 

April 2010: Strawberry Crostata
Summer’s a’coming!  Crostatas are basically fruit pies without the pie dish and you can make them whatever size you want.  This one was perfect for two people, and it was a perfect way to usher in all those strawberries.

May 2010: Classic Italian Bruschetta
This is real true bruschetta, and it couldn’t be easier or yummier.  It’s also the perfect way to use up stale bread that’s on it’s way to the garbage can! (Just make sure you toast it first.)

June 2010: Salami and Arugula Pizza
My new favorite pizza topping!  Over the past year, I think I can safely say that I have mastered homemade pizza, as long as the yeast isn’t dead before I even begin. 

July 2010: Gazpacho
An excellent way to use up some of those veggies you have laying around, and if you’re lucky, you probably have most of them growing in your garden!  Just don’t use a whole jalapeno unless you like really spicy soup.

Whew, that was a lot of exclamation marks.  I guess I just get excited when I have the chance to write about many of my favorit foods all at once. (!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 5:26 pm

    Congratulations! That’s quite an accomplishment! I can’t wait to hit a year on my blog! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

