Skip to content

Strawberry Ice Cream

May 21, 2012

I’ll just tell you now that you’re lucky there was any ice cream left for me to take pictures of.  If I hadn’t been worried about accidentally dropping my spoon in the ice cream maker while it was still churning (thereby tragically breaking my new favorite kitchen gadget), I probably could have eaten it all right then and there.  By myself.

Over the past week I’ve been picking about a pint of strawberries from the garden every two days.  While most of them are devoured standing over the kitchen sink, sometimes I slice them up and eat them with freshly whipped cream, or I put them in my morning yogurt.  I also plan on making strawberry cake and some cupcakes.  Have I mentioned yet that planting strawberries last year was the best idea ever? (“Ever” meaning “as far as planting stuff in our garden is concerned.”)

I decided to save a pound of berries for ice cream, which is a decision I did not regret.

I suppose this is actually custard rather than ice cream, since it contains egg yolks.  But the recipe comes from the Ciao Bella Gelato cookbook, so is it gelato?  I have no idea.

I could taste the eggs in this recipe more-so than in other recipes I’ve made from this cookbook (which all use the same general base recipe), maybe because the strawberry flavor isn’t quite as strong as lots of chocolate and mint.  Ice cream making remains a bit of a mystery to me, since I know there are well-balanced guidelines for the amount of fat and sugar that ice cream needs to contain to be smooth and creamy.  Perhaps eventually I’ll feel comfortable enough to try my own variations, but for now I am perfectly happy following the recipes exactly as they are written, since the results are amazing!

Strawberry Ice Cream (Custard/Gelato)
From Ciao Bella Gelato

2 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
4 large egg yolks
2/3 cup sugar
1 lb strawberries
1/4 cup sugar
1 tbsp lemon juice

Combine milk and cream in a medium sized saucepan.  Stir to prevent skin from forming.  Heat until bubbles begin to form around the edges (temperature should be ~170ºF if you’re using a thermometer).

While heating the milk/cream, whisk egg yolks together.  After 1 minute, add in the 2/3 cup of sugar and continue to whisk until the yolk-sugar combination becomes thick and pale yellow.

Next, temper the egg yolks by slow pouring the 1 cup of hot milk into eggs while whisking constantly.  Then slowly pour the milk/egg mixture into the rest of the milk, whisking constantly.

Then, pour the mixture back into the saucepan and cook stirring constantly.  It is ready when the custard is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon (~185ºF).

Combine the strawberries, 1/4 cup sugar and lemon juice in a medium saucepan.  Simmer over medium heat for about 10 minutes, or until the mixture starts to thicken and the strawberries are soft.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours (can be prepared a day in advance).  Pour 3/4 of the strawberry mixture into a blender and puree until smooth.  Mix into custard.

Churn ice cream according to ice cream machine manufacturer’s directions, adding in remaining strawberries during the last 5 minutes of churning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:44 pm

    Makes me want to go buy some heavy cream! I need to check my patch tonight, and we haven’t even finished the 1st harvest batch yet… I need to shove some into recipes pronto! I was going to try strawberry cream cheese first – just strawberry puree stirred in with cream cheese. But now I’m not sure what to even do with that…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

