Skip to content

Just Peachy

July 25, 2009

DSC_0090

We live near the Del Ray farmer’s market and over the past couple of weeks there’s been a massive influx of peaches.  I decided to make a peach pie and when I told the boyf about my plans, he was like “Are you going to make a peach pie, or a peach cobbler?”  The boyf is a self-professed non-dessert lover (unless it’s brownies), so my first thought was “omg is he actually requesting a baked good?!?”  All I wanted was something tasty containing lots of peaches, so when it turned out he had something more specific in mind, I was more than happy to oblige.

DSC_0098

My love for peaches is relatively new-found because they were always either not sweet even though they were ripe, or they were mealy and gross.  But then when I was in Moldova and the only fruit I ever ate was what was in season (obviously the right way to go anyways, but it never really dawned on me before), I had the sweetest, juiciest peaches ever.  Luckily the peaches today at the farmer’s market were perfectly ripe and I probably bought (and used) more peaches than I needed, which may explain the mess below:

DSC_0104Luckily I put a jelly-roll pan under the cobbler (it was actually more like a crisp, I suppose), so an utter disaster that would have involved cleaning the oven was avoided.  But I digress… the peaches were already so sweet, I hardly put any sugar in the peach part.  And, man, did it turn out well.  The top was sweet and crispy and the bottom was a bit soupy (note to self: buy some corn starch), but it was still exactly what I was craving.  I even packed some for the boyf to take to work tonight.

DSC_0111_2

Back to the farmer’s market…. I was unable to just buy peaches, so I got some plums, a watermelon, blueberries, cherry tomatoes and big tomatoes too.  I always buy myself a yummy-looking pastry for breakfast at the farmer’s market, but today, in a rare show of self-control, I held off in anticipation of this afternoon’s peachiness.

DSC_0085

DSC_0056

DSC_0066_2

DSC_0062

At any rate: here’s the recipe, which I came up with using a combination of recipes from How to Cook Everything.  It’s a phenomenal cookbook; when my dad sent it to me (thanks, Dad!) I literally sat down and read the whole thing.  The boyf thought I was nuts.

OK, here it is for real this time:

Peach Crisp

Filling

About 2 lbs of ripe peaches (I used 10 medium-large peaches)

1 tbsp lemon juice

1/4 c sugar

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

Some flour, instant tapioca or cornstarch (I used about 1/4 c of flour and I think next time I’ll use a couple tbsp of something else)

Crispy-part

1/2 c rolled oats (not the quick cooking, icky instant kind)

1/2 c flour

1/2 c brown sugar (the recipe called for 2/3 c but last time I made this crisp topping I thought it was too sweet)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

5 tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into small chunks

Heat the oven to 400F and grease/butter/spray an 8×8 baking dish.  To peel the peaches, bring a pot of water to a boil and drop in the peaches.  Leave them in for about 30 seconds, or until the skin loosens.  Plunge into a bowl of ice water (ummmm I didn’t do this part because I didn’t really read the recipe, and that may explain why the peaches cooked a little.  No biggy, since it turned out fine, so I guess you don’t have to do this).  Peel off the skins, pit and slice the peaches, and then toss with the lemon juice.  Add in the dry ingredients and mix it all together. Pour the peaches into the baking dish

For the topping combine everything but the butter in a bowl.  Work the butter into the dry ingredients with your fingertips.  You could also use a fork or a pastry thingy, but I like to use my fingers because then I get to lick them off 🙂  I am shameless; it’s the only way to be.

Put the topping on the peaches and pop it in the oven.  Make sure you put another pan below the 8×8 since it might bubble over.  Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the topping is brown.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

