Skip to content

More peachiness, this time with blackberries!

August 1, 2009

DSC_0190

The boyf is out of town this weekend; he left at 4:30 this morning to catch a 6 am flight to St. Louis for a friend’s wedding.  Since I just started the new job and the much-awaited cash influx is slow in the coming, it wouldn’t have been fiscally responsible for me to go too.  I don’t really know the person that’s getting married anyways, so I’m not too bummed out.  It means I get to stay home by myself and cook all weekend!  (And probably gain 5 lbs but I’ll walk that off next week when the boyf isn’t here to drive me the 1.3 miles to the metro stop since he’s leaving me again for a vaycay with his friends…)

This morning I went to the farmers market and came home with a plethora of peaches and blackberries.  I got some red potatoes too, but I’m not going to attempt to make a dessert with those.  I’d read an article in the Boston Globe a couple of weeks ago about tart-like pies where you just roll out the crust, put the fruit in the middle, fold up the sides and viola!   Next weekend I’ll make something with plums and blueberries….

DSC_0160

I thought I’d try my hand at a crostata, except I opted for the recipe out of How to Cook Everything since I was too lazy to look for the Boston Globe recipe, at the time.  I halved the recipe, since it’s just me, and it turned out…. interesting.  Not bad interesting, just kind of interesting.  I’m not going to lie– I’m scared of pie crusts, tart crusts, etc.  Every time I make pie crust from scratch it turns out dry and gross, and the last time I made a tart I (accidentally) used rancid crisco.  Obviously that turned out REALLY bad.  I think this time I made the crust too moist, since it stuck to the parchment paper and broke, letting the fruit juices escape during baking (and then burn to a black, scary crisp).  The fire alarm went off 3 times.  Oops.  I’ve found that when I halve a recipe I tend to forget to/physically can’t halve certain ingredients, in this case an egg yolk.  I guess I could have halved an egg yolk, but it would have been messy.DSC_0182It tasted really good, and the crust was nice and flakey and buttery, but it didn’t really look all that great, what with the burnt stuff all over (you’ll noticed I’ve cropped that out of the pictures…). Below you will find the recipe that I made– if you want the original, double all the ingredients.

Peach and Blackberry Crostata

(Adapted from How to Cook Everything)

Crust

2/3 c flour

pinch o’ salt

1 tbsp sugar

5 tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into chunks

1 egg yolk

1 tbsp ice water

Filling

2 peaches (skinned, peeled, pitted and sliced– for skinning peaches see my peach crisp recipe)

1 c rinsed blueberries

1 tbsp melted butter

2 tbsp honey

To make the crust, mix the flour, sugar and salt.  Add the butter and mush it around with your fingers (I don’t have a food processor) until the butter is broken up and looks like peas in the dough (they should not be green, clearly).  Add the yolk and stir it into the dough (I did this with my hands).  See if you can form the dough into a ball, and if you can’t, slowly add in small amounts of ice water.  If it gets too wet, add some flour (if in doubt, just add more flour because you really don’t want it too wet).  Form the dough into a ball, wrap it in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge for at least 30 min.

Heat the oven to 425 F.  Roll the crust out until about 1/8 inch thick, sprinkling it lightly with flour and rolling it between 2 sheets of parchment paper or wax paper (a bonus of doing it on parchment paper is that you only need to peel off one side of it and you can just bake in the paper).  The dough doesn’t need to be perfectly round, and after rolling it out, place it on a baking sheet.

Cover the crust with the fruit mixture, leaving about 1.5 inches of crust around the outside.  Fold the edges of the crust up over the fruit and pour the melted butter and honey (mixed together) on top of the fruit.  Bake until the crust is brown and the fruit is bubbly, about 20-30 minutes.  Remove from the oven, let cool, and enjoy!

DSC_0187

Leave a Reply

