Skip to content

As promised…. plum and blueberry cobbler

August 8, 2009

DSC_0370

You may not remember, but last weekend I said I would make something with plums and blueberries this week.  There are still so many plums and blueberries at the farmers market, how could I not?  Plus, (drum roll, please)…….. today they fixed the air conditioning!  I figured I needed to bake something in homage to the fact that I finally could use the oven without the temp hitting 90 in the apt.  As per usual, I spent way to much money at the farmers market today buying heirloom tomatoes, sweet corn, plums, peaches, sweet onions, blueberries, and a really yummy almond and chocolate pastry.  I actually had to seek out an ATM and get more cash.  It was sad/pathetic.

I always get my plums and blueberries from the same farm: Golden Goose Farm in Culpeper, VA.  They also make really good blueberry muffins (which the boyf loves because “they are so shameless in how much sugar they put on top the muffins”) and cinnamon rolls.  I used used a recipe for blueberry cobbler from How to Cook Everything and it turned out, well, a bit funky.  It tasted good and everything, but the cobbler part disintegrated and was completely unlike any “cobbler” I’ve ever had in my life.  It looked promising before it went in the oven… In fact, I would say it looked excellent.

DSC_0380

DSC_0386

And then after it came out… well, let’s just say that here’s a picture of the custard we put on top of it:

DSC_0382

I opened the oven to look at it (we don’t have a handy little oven light) and I was mortified.  It was unlike anything I’d ever seen before, and definitely not what I expected.  There were no little globs of dough and it was like a big scary soup.  I followed the directions to a T, and the only thing I can think of is that the oven wasn’t fully heated when I put the cobbler in.  Other than that, I’m at a genuine loss.  I really don‘t know what the hell happened.

Moving on to happier things, I bought some vanilla custard at The Dairy Godmother for the cobbler and it was sooooooooo good.  We live right by The Dairy Godmother, which is nice, but it’s also kind of bad because I walk right by it on my way home each day.  By that time of day, I’m tired, dripping with sweat, my feet hurt and looking for an excuse to stop walking, not to mention extremely hungry.  Also, it’s practically in my blood to like custard: I’m from Wisconsin and so is the lovely proprietor of The Dairy Godmother, so we share an instant important commonality (she doesn’t know that yet).  Sometimes I possess enough will power to keep walking, sometimes I don’t.  C’est la vie.

I’m not going to give you the formal “recipe” since it was a flop, as far as I was concerned… you can email me if you need more details.  To make the cobbler, I used 1 pint of blueberries and 4 sliced plums.  I tossed in a little (i.e. 1/4 cup) sugar and set about making the cobbler.  I mixed together some flour, sugar, and baking power, cut in a stick of butter, added an egg and some vanilla and then put it on the fruit.  After putting the cobbler topping on the fruit, I baked it at 375 for about 45 minutes.

If you try this recipe and it works out, please let me know what you did!  Alternatively, if you have a dependable, fantastic cobbler recipe, I’d be much obliged if you wanted to share 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 10:35 am

    Katie,
    You are right, the pictures are terrific! The food sounds as good as it looks. Sorry about the cobbler. Cindy made a really good (very simple) peach cobbler in Canada. She also did a few crisps.

    This is a very cool blog.

    Rob

  2. August 9, 2009 6:44 pm

    Thanks, Rob! Next time I see you guys I’ll have to get Cindy’s cobbler recipe. Thank you for checking out the blog!

  3. Robin permalink
    August 13, 2009 12:48 pm

    Geez Katie! Grad school really did hold you back! This stuff looks awesome (and though you made awesome stuff in the Atl) not this much! : ) you should apply for the next food network star!

    • August 13, 2009 12:56 pm

      Thanks, Robin! This is what happens when there’s no more homework or exams to study for! It helps that I’m not just cooking for myself anymore, so I have lots of excuses to try new stuff. Can’t wait to see you when you come to DC next time!

Leave a Reply

