Skip to content

Broccoli & Tofu Stir-Fry

August 10, 2009

DSC_0356I did a lot of cooking over the weekend, but none of it was very good take-to-work-for-lunch food.  I think meat tastes a bit funky when you reheat it in the microwave, so I prefer veggies and tofu.  And now that the boyf has given me free range to cook vegetarian whenever I want (he loved the edamame and tofu), I decided to try a new recipe!

About a year ago I bought The Enchanted Broccoli Forest, which is an awesome vegetarian cookbook that a friend recommended.  Unfortunately I haven’t made that many recipes from it, so I thought I might give it a shot.  I combed through the tofu recipes and opted for a broccoli stir fry with a spicy peanut sauce.  It was easy enough to make, and I sauteed the tofu first so it was crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.  I chopped up some tofu, onions, garlic, ginger and scallions, and that was pretty much it.

DSC_0344

The spicy peanut sauce required a LOT of tweaking.  So much, in fact, that by the time I was done I had about twice as much as I’d started with (it’s now in the freezer, eagerly awaiting the next time I make this stir fry).  I learned an important lesson: you can add stuff in, but you can’t take it out.  In the future, if I’m ever in doubt I think I’ll just add a little, taste it, and add more if need be.  I used almost an entire container of Trader Joe’s peanut butter to make the sauce edible– it was ridiculous.

The boyf  doesn’t like rice, so I made rice noodles and it was all really tasty.

DSC_0363

Broccoli and Shrimp with Spicy Peanut Sauce

(Adapted from The Enchanted Broccoli Forest)

1 lb tofu, precooked however you want (I like to press out the water– you’d be surprised how much liquid is in tofu, and they sautee it on high with some soy sauce.  To press out the water, I put it on a plate on top of a kitchen towel, put another towel on top and weigh it down with the ginormous cast iron pan.)

2 medium onions, chopped

1 lb broccoli, cleaned and cut into florets

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp ginger, minced

3 sliced scallions (white and green parts)

neutral oil, like sunflower or vegetable

salt

Put a wok (or another large pan) on the stove on high heat.  Add in some oil, and, once it’s hot, put in the onion and stir for about a minute.  Then add in the broccoli, ginger and garlic and stir until the broccoli is al dente.  Then add in the tofu and scallions.  Mix the stirfry with the rice noodles, and top with the sauce.

Spicy Peanut Sauce

3/4 c natural good peanut butter

1/2 c water

3 tbsp cider vinegar

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp molasses

cayenne pepper (however much you can handle…)

Mix together the pb and water, then whisk together the remaining ingredients.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

