Skip to content

“The best cookies you ever made”

August 12, 2009

DSC_0053

I have never met a dessert I didn’t like.  Never.  So the fact that the boyf isn’t a big dessert fan kinda sucks because it means I have no one else to eat what I bake.  Just me.  That can be problematic since exercising “isn’t my thing.”

One of my favorite blogs is Pete Bakes and when I saw this tasty looking recipe for rugelach (prounounced rug-a-lah) I decided to try it since I thought maybe the boyf might like it because it doesn’t have tons of sugar.  I made them a couple nights ago when the boyf’s sister and her boyfriend and everyone loved them.  The boyf told me they were the best cookies I’ve ever made.  I made another batch tonight for him to take to work and apparently his coworkers love them too.  They are that good. 

If you wanted to get fancy (and if you love chocolate) you could melt some chocolate with a little butter, put it in a baggie with the corner snipped off (or, if you’re lucky, a piping bag) and drizzle it over the rugelach when they are cool… yum.

Here’s the recipe (drum roll)….

Chocolate Nut Rugelach

(Adapted from Pete Bakes)

Dough

2 sticks  butter, softened

8 oz cream cheese, softened

2 cups flour

Filling

 1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1 cup chopped nuts

1/4 cup sugar (for sprinkling on top of cookies)

1 tbsp melted butter

In a large bowl, cream the butter and cream cheese together. Beat in the flour, little by little. Knead the dough slightly until all the flour is incorporated. Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour. In the meantime, combine the filling ingredients (except for the melted butter and decorating sugar) and set aside.

Prehead the oven to 350F.  Remove the dough from the fridge and divide in half.  Roll out one half of dough in a circle about 1/16 inch thick.  Spread half of the filling on the dough, pressing the filling into the dough so it won’t move around when you roll it up too much. Using a knife (I used a pizza slicer), cut the dough into 16 pie-shaped wedges.  Roll the dough wedges starting from the wide edge and ending at the point.

Place the cookies on an ungreased baking sheet and sprinkle with decorating sugar. Bake for 15 minutes, remove, brush with 1 Tbsp melted butter, and bake for another 10 minutes until golden brown.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

