Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

August 15, 2009

DSC_0406

Tonight we went to a house-warming party for the boyf’s friend from work, Chantel.  It was a GREAT party– I stuffed myself with cheese burgers and some of the best ribs I have ever had.  All I have to say is thank god I’m not an actual vegetarian because I really do enjoy myself some meat.  Last time we went to Chantel’s for a barbeque it was kind of bare-bones (no pun intended) because she’d just moved in and she hadn’t really had a chance to stock the fridge with things like ketchup.  Regardless, I still enjoyed my cheeseburger and the boyf had a great steak (or two), and Chantel clearly knows how to host a great party.  I asked the boyf what we should bring to Chantel’s house-warming party and he was like, “I don’t know.  Ketchup?”  Right.

Rather than bringing ketchup, I decided upon Ina Garten’s Raisin Pecan Oatmeal Cookies from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics, my latest library find.  I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips and they were super good.  So good, in fact, that I had cookie dough and cookies (baked, this time) for lunch.  And then I felt sick.  True story.

DSC_0390

Before baking.

DSC_0392After baking.

Everyone at the party loved the cookies, and I gave the left overs to the boyf to take to work.  That’s how I roll: I bake and then pawn it off on other people.  It’s easier that way, rather than eating it myself and having to exercise to undo its negative effects.

That being said: make these cookies.  They are fantastic and really easy to make.  The recipe says it makes 30-35 cookies if you use a tablespoon of dough per cookie.  I don’t know what Ina Garten uses to measure her tablespoons, but I got like 55 good-sized cookies from this recipe.  I guess if you either make monster-sized cookies or you really go to town on the dough then you’d only get 30 cookies, but otherwise I’d say you can safely plan on a lot more than just 30 cookies.

My mom pointed out to me that almost all recipes in existence call for regular, plain old eggs, but Ina Garten’s call for extra large eggs.  Why, I don’t know, but in this case it didn’t seem to make much of a difference.  In addition, I used 1.5 cups of old fashioned oats and 1.5 cups of quick cooking oats because that was all the old fashioned oats we had.  That didn’t seem to make much of a difference either– they still turned out nicely.  And I think my photos are better than the picture of these cookies in the cook book 🙂

DSC_0407

Chocolate Chip Pecan Oatmeal Cookies

(Adapted from Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics)

1 1/2 c pecans
1/2 pound (two sticks) unsalted butter
1 c brown sugar
1 c granulated sugar
2 extra-large eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 c  flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp kosher salt
3 c old-fashioned oatmeal
1 1/2 c chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Place the pecans on a sheet pan and bake for 5 minutes, until crisp. Set aside to cool. Chop very coarsely.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. With the mixer on low, add the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla.

Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and the salt together into a medium bowl. (or you can do like I do and just dump them together). With mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture, Add the oats, raisins, and pecans and mix just until combined.

Using a small ice-cream scoop or a tablespoon, drop 2 inch mounds of dough onto sheet pans lined with parchment paper (if you don’t have parchment paper, bake on an ungreased cookie sheet– otherwise they tend to spread out a lot). Flatten slightly with a damp hand. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer the cookies to a baking rack and cool completely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

