Skip to content

Shrimp Scampi with Spinach Linguine

August 16, 2009
tags: ,

DSC_0398

There are times when I don’t really feel like cooking, or doing anything, for that matter.  Today is one of those days… all I really want to do is lie one the couch and watch Mad Men via Surf The Channel on some Chinese youtube-equivalent.  Yet I also want to eat something, and I think the boyf finished off the hot pockets.  What to do?

I found a recipe for shrimp scampi that I thought looked easy enough (it was– it came together in like 10 minutes) and there was some frozen home-made spinach linguine in the freezer from a couple weeks ago.  Basically, all I did was throw the scampi and the pasta together, top it with some parmesan and voila, I had dinner for today and lunch for the next couple of days.

Oh, I should mention that I found a seafood sustainability guide, and it’s really a handy thing to have around.  If you’ve got an iphone, there’s even an app for it, so you can check the how sustainable different seafoods are when you’re at the grocery store (if you’re that kind of person, which I suppose I am).  I was saddened to find that my bagged frozen shrimp are farmed in Thailand, which is on the “avoid” list because in most other countries they don’t have the same farming regulations as in the U.S., so in many cases lots of natural habitats are destroyed to make way for shrimp farms.  Or something like that.  Next time I’ll make sure I buy U.S.-farmed shrimp, even though they are a little bit more expensive.  Just knowing I’m doing my part to ensure that the world isn’t destroyed for my shrimp habit will hopefully make those couple of dollars worth it!

DSC_0385

Shrimp Scampi

(adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 2  teaspoons  olive oil
  • 28  large shrimp, peeled and deveined (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 3  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3  cup  Sauvignon Blanc or other dry white wine
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1  tablespoon  fresh lemon juice
  • linguine

Heat some water in a pot for the pasta– when it’s boiling add in the pasta and some salt and cook until done.  Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add shrimp; sauté 1 minute. Add garlic and red pepper flakes; sauté 1 minute. Stir in wine, salt, and pepper; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; cook 30 seconds. Add parsley and juice; toss well to coat. Cook 1 minute or until shrimp are done.  Toss shrimp and pasta together

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

