Skip to content

Heirloom Tomato and Goat Cheese Bruschetta

August 21, 2009

DSC_0400

First of all…

Something interesting is starting to happen: strangers are looking at my blog!  As I’m writing more posts, I’m becoming more “googleable” and the internet is referring more people to my blog.  If you are one of the aforementioned strangers, welcome to my blog and thanks for checking it out!  I hope you will return here in the future, as I am trying to post tasty recipes with pretty accompanying pictures as often as possible 🙂

OK, so the past couple days I haven’t been feeling that great.  If I didn’t know better, I’d say I have giardia.  But since I haven’t been swimming in public pools and I’m the one making the food (and I wash my hands), I doubt that’s it.  So when the boyf called me this evening and ran down the list of possible dinner options, they all sounded quite unappetizing.  But then I got home and the smell of onions, peppers and garlic sauteeing in some olive oil hit me, and I realized I was actually kind of hungry.

I still had some heirloom tomatoes left from the farmers market, so I sliced em up, sprinkled salt on top, followed by really good olive oil and basalmic.

DSC_0388

While that was sitting, I sliced a baguette, painted on some olive oil and popped it in a 500F oven for a few minutes.  It got nice and crispy without getting hard.  In retrospect it would have been nice to rub some sliced garlic on the bruschetta to infuse some subtle garlic flavor.

DSC_0380

After that, I spread on some goat cheese, topped it with a tomato wedge, and had a fabulous dinner that didn’t exacerbate current problems.  Or maybe the giar-giar liked it too?  Here’s hoping I don’t really have giardia and that you will still continue to read my blog 🙂

DSC_0395

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

