Skip to content

Cheesy Corn Muffins

September 2, 2009
tags:

DSC_0405

Perhaps you have noticed that I tend to over-buy when I go to the farmers market.  The produce all looks so pretty and it’s only in season now, so that means it tastes best now, so I buy it now…. and it all goes downhill from there.

Recently (I will not specify how many weeks ago in order to not further embarrass myself) I bought 6 ears of corn.  I boiled all of them, and we ate a couple for dinner and I was planning on using the rest at some point.  “At some point” has come and gone, and I need to do something with that one ear of corn left.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that cooked corn will keep in the fridge for a number of weeks, and it still even tastes good.

DSC_0383

One of my absolute most favorite things to do when I have time on my hands in the morning is to make a big breakfast.  Pancakes, biscuits, omelets, cinnamon buns, you name it.  This morning I decided to make corn muffins and by throwing in some cheddar cheese (everything is better with cheese… ) they became cheesy corn muffins, which made them instantly more appealing.

DSC_0392

I sliced the corn off the cob by standing it up straight on the stalk end and slicing down the cob to cut the kernels off.  I cut as close to the fibrous cobby part as possible to get as much corn off as I could.  You an also use frozen or canned corn, which would probably work great too.  The original recipe also called for buttermilk, and I didn’t have any so I used half milk, half plain yogurt.  I think you can make your own buttermilk by adding vinegar or lemon juice to normal milk, but the idea didn’t occur to me at the time.  These muffins come together really quickly, and, let me tell you, they are awesome.  SO good.  If you need to do something with the corn you went hog-wild buying at the farmers market, and you’re at a loss for ideas, you might want to give these a try!

DSC_0386

See that pinch of cayenne?  That’s good stuff right there.

DSC_0397

Cheesy Corn Muffins
(Adapted from Baking from My Home to Yours)

Yield: 12 regular-sized muffins or 48 miniature ones

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal, preferably stone-ground
6 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pinch of cayenne pepper
1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup plain yogurt
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
3 tablespoons corn oil (I used olive oil since it was handy)
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
1 cup corn kernels (add up to 1/3 cup more if you’d like) – fresh, frozen or canned (in which case they should be drained and patted dry)

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Butter or spray the 12 molds in a regular-size muffin pan or fit the molds with paper muffin cups. Alternatively, use a silicone muffin pan, which needs neither greasing nor paper cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cayenne. In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, melted butter, oil, egg and yolk together until well blended. Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Don’t worry about being thorough – the batter will be lumpy, and that’s just the way it should be. Stir in the corn kernels and cheese. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes (12 minutes for minis), or until the tops are golden and a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.DSC_0401

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

