Skip to content

Not-Too-Mayonaisey Coleslaw

September 8, 2009

DSC_0390

I’ve made coleslaw from scratch a couple of times.  The first time was in Moldova, where my friend Megan and I made some in an attempt to bring American food to a typical Moldovan holiday celebration.  It was a stroke of genius on Megan’s part, since cabbage, mayo and carrots are plentiful in Moldova all year long.  The Moldovans loved it, and it was quite tasty, if I do say so myself. 

However, it was all downhill from there.  I made coleslaw again when I visited my sister in Italy and it was…well… not what I’d been hoping for.  We used mayonaise that had a very strong mayonaisey flavor, and I put in too many onions.  It kind of tasted like colorful onion mayo– not good.  My sister’s husband was polite and ate some of it, but aside from taking a bite to try it each time after I added something else to rectify the flavor issues, I stayed away from it.

I decided to tackle coleslaw again yesterday, hoping to right previous wrongs and to produce something that would make me like coleslaw again.  Basically, I needed something with no onions and lots of flavors besides mayo.  I started out with some green and purple cabbage, which I thinly sliced.  Standard coleslaw operating procedure.  

DSC_0398

Then I peeled some carrots and grated them.  I also grated off part of my pinky finger knuckle.  It hurt. Graters, beware.DSC_0382

After that I make the coleslaw “sauce,” which was half mayo, half plain yogurt and two different kinds of mustard.  It’s the kind of thing you can put together and add ingredients to suit your tastes.  If in doubt, put less mayo to start with and you can always add more if you need it.  It’s a lot easier to add a little of one ingredient then it is to add loads of other ingredients to compensate for too much of something else.  That’s the voice of experience right there. 

See?  No onions.

DSC_0402

I think I need a bigger bowl… I succeeded in making a flavorful coleslaw without the mayonaise-overload-badness and I’ll definitely stick with this recipe in the future.

Not-Too-Mayonaisey Coleslaw

3 big fat carrots, peeled and shredded

1/2 a head of green cabbage, sliced thinly

1/2 a head of purple cabbage, sliced thinly

1 c mayonaise

1 c plain yogurt

1 health squirt of dijon mustard

couple spoonfuls of grainy mustard

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper

handful of parsley, finely chopped

DSC_0480

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

