Skip to content

Greek Burgers with Feta Aioli

September 9, 2009

DSC_0470

When I was younger, my dad would make these burgers ALL THE TIME.  It got to the point where my sister, Kirsten, and I would be like “Ugh… greek burgers again?”  We just wanted plain, old burgers that tasted as close to McDonald’s as possible and these burgers didn’t fit the bill. 

DSC_0469So, imagine my surprise when I was thinking about what to make for a Labor Day barbeque and the first thing that popped into my mind was greek burgers.  I decided to resurrect the old family favorite, now that I can appreciate “exotic” burgers and I knew that my friends probably would too.  I was even thinking about making my own hamburger buns, but that proved a little over-ambitious.  Yeah, they probably would have tasted even better, but toasted buns from the grocery store leave nothing to be desired, as far as I’m concerned. 

These burgers are packed with stuff besides just meat: parsley, roasted red peppers, garlic and spinach.  The feta aioli also adds a lot of extra flavor.

DSC_0436

 Here are the burgers in their most primitive stage: not yet patties, not yet grilled, and not yet tasty.

DSC_0441

Getting closer to goodness…

DSC_0466

Don’t forget to grease your grilling rack because these babies stick. 

Back to the Labor Day bbq… My friends asked what they could bring and my response was  “I don’t know… What ever suits your fancy.”  As any good hostess is wont to do, I started to worry and I thought about how I maybe should have planned better.  What if everyone brought a veggie tray or bags of doritos?  What if we ran out of booze?

Little did I know, I had nothing to worry about.  My friends Jamie and Samira showed up, with Samira’s sister and four bags of groceries in tow.  Four.  Then our other friends, Sam and Scott, arrived with two more bags of groceries.  Do I have great friends or what?

DSC_0459

Unfortunately this is the only creation I had a chance to take a picture of (too busy eating…).  Samira and her sister made a salsa/guacamole combination dip and Jamie made a corn/cheese/frito salad.  How could anything with fritos ever not be good?  I also made an apple pie (to be featured in my next post), and there were tons of cookies.  We also grilled lots of veggies, lest you think we are dessert-centric.  The boyf’s sister and her boyfriend also came and brought more cookies and beer (just in time, since we were running out…).   

Greek Burgers with Feta Aioli

(From Cooking Light)

Aioli:

  • 1/2  cup  (2 ounces) crumbled feta cheese
  • 2  tablespoons  light mayonnaise
  • 2  tablespoons  plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1  garlic clove, minced

Burgers:

  • 5  (1/2-inch-thick) slices red onion
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  pound  lean ground round
  • 2/3  cup  fresh breadcrumbs
  • 1/3  cup  chopped bottled roasted red bell peppers
  • 1/4  cup  chopped fresh parsley
  • 1  teaspoon  dried oregano
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  coarsely ground black pepper
  • 1  (10-ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed dry
  • 1  large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2  garlic cloves, crushed
  • 5  (1 1/2-ounce) sourdough sandwich buns

To prepare aioli, combine first 5 ingredients in a food processor; pulse 1 minute or until smooth. Cover and chill.

Prepare grill or broiler.

To prepare the burgers, place onion slices on a grill rack or broiler pan coated with cooking spray, and cook 2 minutes on each side. Set aside.

Combine the beef and the next 9 ingredients (beef through crushed garlic) in a large bowl. Divide the beef mixture into 5 equal portions, shaping each portion into a 1/2-inch-thick patty. Place patties on grill rack or broiler pan coated with cooking spray, and cook for 6 minutes on each side or until burgers are done. Spread 1 1/2 tablespoons aioli over top half of each bun. Place patties on bottom halves of buns, and top each with 1 onion slice and top half of bun.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    September 9, 2009 2:10 pm

    I really need to get up to visit more often…haven’t had your mom & dad’s cooking since I was itsy 🙂 Hope to see them at Christmas! In the meantime, this looks GOOD…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

