Skip to content

Banana Bread

September 13, 2009

DSC_0527

I always buy more bananas than I will eat before they start to get brown.  Always.  Usually I freeze them and then use them in a smoothie with some plain yogurt, but I just haven’t really been in a smoothie mood lately.  I have, however, been in a baking mood.  In fact, I’m always in a baking mood.  And, it turns out banana bread is one of the few baked goods the boyf will eat, which means I don’t have to eat it all by myself (I don’t need another rhubarb meringue pie situation).  Check and check.DSC_0504

Way to brown and mushy for anything but banana bread or the like.

I opted for my favorite banana bread recipe that I discovered last year.  It’s one of those recipes that you don’t have to fiddle with– you can just do what the recipe says and fabulousness will emerge from your oven an hour later.  Although I did make one alteration: I added 2/3 cup of sugar rather than 1 cup because I think a lot of banana breads are too sweet.  Other than that, this recipe is pretty much perfect.  You could probably add a little cinnamon, but that didn’t occur to me at the time

DSC_0507

Who knew pastry cutters could be so multi-purpose?  About half an hour after I put the bread in the oven I had to leave to meet a friend from grad school, Robin, who was flying through DC on her way to a wedding.  [Side note: Robin brought me my grad school thesis.  I’ve decided to use it as a coaster.]  I gave the boyf specific directions about how to check the bread to see if it was done, how much longer to bake it for, etc.  I also told him he couldn’t eat any of it until I came home and took pictures of it (which might have been a little mean).

DSC_0516

Yum.  I love cream cheese on my banana bread.  It’s also good warm out of the oven with nothing on it. There’s not much to say about this banana bread besides that it’s great.  And that you should make some.  Like, now.  Or maybe tomorrow if you’re busy right now.

DSC_0523

Yes, those are my teeth marks.

Banana Bread

(Adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 2  cups  all-purpose flour
  • 3/4  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  cup  sugar (I used 2/3 cup)
  • 1/4  cup  butter, softened
  • 2  large eggs
  • 1 1/2  cups  mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
  • 1/3  cup  plain low-fat yogurt
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt, stirring with a whisk.

Place sugar and butter in a large bowl, and beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 1 minute). Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Add banana, yogurt, and vanilla; beat until blended. Add flour mixture; beat at low speed just until moist. Spoon batter into an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

