Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Scones

October 14, 2009
tags: ,

DSC_0033

It is so hard to find a good scone.  Next to impossible, I daresay.  I’ve tried scones from two of the bakeries at the Del Ray farmers market, and they were utterly disappointing.  They were dry, heavy as a brick and cake-like, leaving me searching for the closest water source.  I like my scones crumbly, light and buttery.  If you want something done right, you have to do it yourself. 

That said, I’ve decided to embark upon a scone experiment, where over the course of a couple weeks (or maybe a month or two), I’ll make scones from several different recipes.  Instinct is telling me to just follow the Cook’s Illustrated recipe and call it a day, but I hesitate to use half my daily calories on breakfast.

DSC_0006

I decided to start with a Cooking Light recipe first because how awesome would it be if I made semi-healthy scones and they turned out fantastic?!?  Then I could bring my Great Scone Experiment to a halt, call it a day and consider myself successful.  Unfortunately, if something sounds too good to be true, it probably isn’t true.  Such is the case with these scones. 

If a recipe requires taking short cuts to keep the scones moist, like baking them all together as one big mass so they don’t dry out, that should be a sign right there.  Personally, I like the crusty edges of scones and so does Nate, and I’d rather use a recipe where I can get the crusty part and the moist crumblieness at the same time.  That being said, these were really easy to make, and they were fluffy and tasty.  Just not all that moist.  Will I make these again?  Well, that would depend on later results in The Great Scone Experiment.  But for now I’ll say probably not.

DSC_0037

Chocolate Chip Scones

(Adapted from Cooking Light)

  • 2/3  cup  1% low-fat milk
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1  large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 1/4  cups  all-purpose flour
  • 1/3  cup  sugar
  • 2 1/2  teaspoons  baking powder
  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  cup  chilled butter or stick margarine, cut into small pieces
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips
  • Cooking spray
  • 2  teaspoons  1% low-fat milk
  • 2  teaspoons  sugar

Stir in milk, vanilla and egg.

Preheat oven to 425°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and the next 4 ingredients (flour through cinnamon) in a bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until the mixture resembles coarse meal. (The flour mixture and butter can also be combined in a food processor; pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal.) Stir in chocolate chips. Add milk mixture, stirring just until moist (dough will be really sticky).

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface; knead lightly 4 times with floured hands. Pat dough into an 8-inch circle on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Cut dough into 10 wedges; do not separate. Brush the dough with 2 teaspoons milk; sprinkle with 2 teaspoons sugar. Bake at 425° for 20 minutes or until browned. Serve warm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. heypeggy permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:24 am

    hi Katie, love your blog and your photos are mouthwateringly good!
    Now scones are never something that made my heart beat faster but after seeing yours I might give them another chance. But not in Madrid– here I am only a very rudimentary cook — basically I’m only interested in sauteing some piece of fish with garlic, or putting some good Spanish jamon in with some pasta or eggs.
    I’ll keep an eye out for more of your culinary delights.

Trackbacks

  1. Blueberry Lemon Scones « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

