Skip to content

Roasted Red Pepper and Sausage Pasta

October 19, 2009

DSC_0038

This smelled really good.  I don’t know if it was the garlic and onions sauteeing on the stove, or maybe the sausage cooking, but apparently Nate could smell it down in the entry way of our apartment building (we live on the second floor).  I wonder if that means our neighbors can smell when I burn something too?

Moving on… I’m not a super-huge fan of roasted red peppers from a jar.  I think they taste funky, feel slimy and they smell un-peppery.  I’ve read about roasting your own peppers on the stove and it seemed too easy to be true.  I’m glad I gave it a try though because I am never buying jarred roasted red peppers again!  The roasted peppers turned out so well, and I just let them do their thing while I chopped other ingredients and got everything else ready.

DSC_0005

The only problem is that you need a gas stove.  Actually, I guess you could maybe roast peppers on an electric stove, but the results might not be the exact same.  You could probably use green or yellow peppers too…. I think I’ll try yellow next time.

DSC_0015

After I looked at the pictures I took of the peppers on my stove top, I was moderately horrified by how dirty the stove looked.  I’ve managed to crop out most the ickyness but last night I gave the kitchen a very thorough cleaning.  I even put my pot holders in the washing machine and got out a new kitchen sponge.

Don’t worry about how charred they get because you’ll peel off the skin later and it’s only the skin that gets black.  I discovered I had to rotate them several times on each side because otherwise there was a nice black ring that got cooked, the middle of which was raw.

I used rotini pasta so the garlic and other little bits would get caught in the swirly parts.

Okay, I lied.  I used rotini pasta because it was what I had.  But the garlic, parmesan and sauce did get stuck in the pasta, which makes it more fun to eat.  The less times I have to stab something with my fork to get a complete bite, the better.

This meal is quick, tasty, full of veggies and great for a week night.  I am not a vegetable person, so if I can disguise them as something I like (pasta sauce), it’s a win/win situation.

DSC_0039

Roasted Red Pepper and Sausage Pasta

2 large red bell peppers (you can also buy a jar of pre-roasted peppers if you don’t want to do it yourself or you don’t have a gas stove)

1/2 onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

14 oz diced tomatoes

2 italian sausages, casing removed

8 oz pasta

salt pepper

1 tsp oregano

red chili pepper flakes

If using whole red peppers, place on stove with gas burner turned to lowest possible setting.  It’s easier to do several peppers on different burners all at once than doing them one at a time.  Let the pepper roast on each side, rotating a little on each side so you don’t get a circle of heat in just one area.  Repeat for the 3 other sides.  Once the skin is blackened, place the peppers in a plastic sealable bag for 10 minutes.  Remove from bag and peal off the blackened skin (it should slide right off).  Remove the seeds and other innards, and dice up the peppers. If you’re using jarred peppers, drain and dice them.

Cook sausage until browned, breaking up into little pieces. Get some water boiling on the stove, and cook the pasta until it’s al dente (you’ll heat it up with the sauce where it will cook a little more). Drain and set aside

Sautee the onion and garlic in olive oil with red chili pepper flakes until soft (three to five minutes).  Add in the roasted pepper, oregano, salt and pepper and the tomatoes.  It would be great with some fresh basil too, if you have it. 

Combine the sausage, sauce and pasta in a large skillet and heat through.  Grate some parmesan and enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

