Skip to content

Roasted Acorn Squash

October 20, 2009

DSC_0056

This is my absolute most favorite way to eat squash.  Lasanga is good and pie is nice too, but this is still my fave.  When I was growing up this was the only way my mom made squash (that I can remember, at least) and for a long time it was the only thing I would do with squash when I bought it.

On Saturday morning I braved the 40 degree and rainy weather to go to the farmers market.  It was practically empty and there were only two produce vendors, but I was able to get all the stuff I needed.  Rather than buying a pastry (which, let’s be honest, is my Saturday routine) I decided to buy a squash, fill it with sugar and butter and bake it.  It sounded like the perfect breakfast for a cold and rainy day when I really didn’t have much else to do. 

DSC_0059

I carefully cut it in half, scooped out the guts, put some sugar and butter in each half, drizzled it with maple syrup and popped it in the oven for about an hour and a half.  Towards the end I was starting to get really hungry, as an hour and a half is longer than I usually wait for breakfast. But it was worth it.  I curled up on the couch in a blanket with my squash, some tea and caught up on the week’s television on my computer. 

Hmmm.  I believe I just provided you with the definition of “couch potato.”  Please don’t judge me.

See that dark brown goodness?  That’s melted butter and brown sugar, my friends.  You can thank me later.

DSC_0061

Roasted Acorn Squash

1 medium acorn squash

2 tbsp butter, divided

2 tbsp packed brown sugar, divided

real maple syrup (not Aunt Jemima)

Preheat the oven to 425F.  Cut the acorn squash in half by stabbing it in the middle with a really big knife and then pressing down.  Be careful here because squash are really hard to cut through and fingers tend to get in the way.  Luckily this was a small one so I could do it myself, but with the last one I had to ask Nate to do it (am I a wimp or what?).  Scoop out the seeds and other innards.  Place 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp sugar in each half.  Place the halves in a baking dish and pour some water into the bottom so they steam in the oven.  Drizzle some maple syrup over the top, cover with aluminum foil and bake for an hour.  Once the hour is up, remove the foil and bake for another 15 minutes, or until done.  You’ll know when it’s done because the squash will be fork-tender and starting to cave in a little.  Now for the hard part: wait 5 minutes before you eat it because that sucker is hot and hot butter is uncomfortable to eat.  Trust me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 9:25 pm

    Sounds delicious! I made this great Moroccan-style stuffed acorn squash over the weekend.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/moroccan-style-stuffed-acorn-squashes/

Leave a Reply

