Skip to content

Pan Fried Pork Chops

October 21, 2009

DSC_0098

Pork chops are underrated.  I’m just as guilty as the next person.  Sometimes I crave steak, but never in my life have I thought “Oooo I want a pork chop!”  Maybe that has something to do with a parasitology class in which I learned about trichinosis.  I stopped eating pork for about 4 months, until I started thinking about how much I liked bacon and accidental ordered some jamon serrano.  At that point I gave up.  Clearly I’ll never be a vegetarian.

Last week one of my colleagues gave me a recipe for sweet potato biscuits, and as tempted as I was to just make sweet potato biscuits for dinner, I knew I had to make something else too.  Surprisingly (for me, anyway), pork chops came to mind.  I’m not talking about the small, oval, no fat or bone pork chops (which are the porcine equivalent of boneless skinless chicken breasts).  I’m talking about big fat pork chops that are an inch thick with a huge bone along the side that weigh about a pound each. 

DSC_0087

The pork chops were so easy to make, but still flavorful enough to hold their own with the spectacular biscuits (check back tomorrow to learn more about those…).  I also made some sauteed apples to put on top, which tasted good but looked remarkably similar to baby food.  Hence, you will not see the final product here because there was no way it would look appetizing, even if I had taken the picture in natural light.

I seasoned both sides with more salt and pepper than I would usually use, since some of it would come off in the pan frying process and because there are few things worse than under-seasoned pork.  I fried the chops in a stainless steel pan with some oil for about 3 minutes on each side– just long enough to get crispy edges.  Then I put them in a 400F oven for about 10 minutes, or until the internal temperature was about 150F.  We also made gravy out of the drippings…. Yum.

DSC_0103

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

