Skip to content

Sweet Potato Biscuits

October 22, 2009
tags: ,

DSC_0010

Mmmm biscuits.  (sigh)

I’m tempted to leave it at that since really I shouldn’t have to convince you to make these biscuits.  The name should be enough.  But I’ll try to convince you anyway.

DSC_0005

There.  Now you want to make these, right?

DSC_0094

Okay.  How about now? 

The biscuits were so tender, so flakey and Nate said they were one of the best things I’ve ever made.  That says a lot since I halved all the ingredients except the spices and baking powder.  Oops.  I bet they’d be even better if you followed the recipe.

DSC_0067

Too many spices.  Mainly, too much baking powder.

I took one bite, noticed the odd baking powdery taste, looked at the recipe and clobbered myself on the forehead.  This just goes to show that I shouldn’t bother halving things unless I’m paying attention.

Sweet Potato Biscuits

(Makes 2 dozen)

5 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1 cup vegetable shortening

2 cups roasted, mashed and cooler sweet potato

1 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup of course chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 F

Stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, salt, ginger, and allspice.  Add the shortening and cut in until crumbly.  Add the sweet potato and mix well.  Add the cream and pecans.  Stir until moistened

Turn the dough onto a floured surface.  (I found I had to knead this dough more than I’d anticipated because it was a little dry and needed some help coming together)  Roll out to 1.5 inches thick and cut out with a 2-inch biscuit cutter (I formed it into a rectangle and cut the dough into squares).  Place 1 inch apart on an unbuttered baking sheet

Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.  You can serve warm (with butter… yum) or let cool on a wire rack to room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

