Skip to content

Poached Eggs and Toast

November 17, 2009

DSC_0062

Poaching eggs is scary.  They wind up wispy and un egg-like, and even if you take the egg out with a slotted spoon, it gets whatever you put the egg on all watery.  I have discovered a couple of tricks (by “discovered” I mean read about, implemented, and found that they worked) to alleviate some of these problems.  Plus, poached eggs and toast make a right-darn-tasty quick and easy breakfast.  

First, break an egg into a small dish.  This is so that you can gently add it all at once to the water; if you break the egg directly into the water it’s more likely to separate and not be one solid mass.  

DSC_0050

After putting some water in a pot, add a little vinegar.  This will help to keep the egg whites white and speeds up the cooking process (or so I read).  To further assist in correcting the wispy-egg-everywhere problem, stir the almost-boiling (You don’t want the water to be at a full boil.  I have no idea why, but I think it has something to do with boiling water bouncing the egg all over and separating apart.  I just made that up, so I’m probably wrong) into a whirlpool. 

Here’s another reason why you should break the egg into a little dish and then pour it in: it’d be difficult to break an egg and smoothly pour it into the pot while stirring the water and creating a whirlpool. 

DSC_0054

You can see how all the egg white wisps are swirling around in the same direction– the whirlpool served its purpose and kept the egg together in the middle of the pot.  Victorious at last! 

DSC_0056

While the egg is cooking, toast up some bread and butter it.  Butter is yummy. Depending on how done you like your eggs, you could cook it from two to four minutes. 

When the egg is done, remove it with a slotted spoon and put it on top of some paper towels to absorb the remaining moisture.  Place the egg on the toast and liberally sprinkle with salt and pepper.

I don’t use just any salt.  I use this:

DSC_0066

It’s an herbed Italian salt called salamoia and I put it on everything (except baked goods, excluding pizza).  I have no idea where you can get it in the States, although they do have it at Alon’s in Atlanta for like $6 a jar.  Unfortunately that won’t do me much good, especially since I’m almost out. 

I undercooked my egg a little more than I would prefer, but when I think about how many raw eggs I’ve consumed in my lifetime, it’s probably okay.

Breakfast, anyone?

DSC_0072

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsten permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:27 pm

    I now know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow! yummmmmmm…and I love the picture of the salamoia =)

Trackbacks

  1. Farm-Fresh Asparagus and Poached Eggs « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

