Skip to content

Triple-Ginger Cookies

November 27, 2009

I love the day after Thanksgiving.  Love it.  And not for the shopping.  As someone who typically shies away from shopping, the idea of rushing the mall and searching for bargains at the same time as several thousand of my closest friends makes me want to hide in a closet.

I love the day after Thanksgiving because that’s when the Christmas season starts.  It seems like each year Christmas comes earlier and earlier, but I think if you start with the holiday stuff before Thanksgiving, you’re pushing it. Maybe it’s just me, but I like boundaries in my life.  I like to spend “Black Friday” at home, baking cookies, listening to Christmas music and starting to put up decorations. (However, there will be no Black Friday baking this year since we are all still too stuffed from yesterday’s meal)

We have a number of Christmas cookies that we make every year, without fail, oftentimes more than once.  But I always keep my eyes open for some new cookies to add to the more traditional repertoire.

Well, my friends, we have a winner.

These cookies are crispy, yet soft and moist, and bursting with gingery goodness. Even my friends who were like “I don’t really like ginger” couldn’t keep their hands off these babies.

To make the cookies extra-seasonal you could roll them in red or green colored sugar (or whatever other color suits your fancy).  I love ginger to the point where I eat crystallized ginger like candy, so I was automatically drawn to this recipe.  As an added bonus, they make your kitchen smell really nice too.  I’m already looking forward to making these cookies for many more Black Fridays to come!

Triple-Ginger Cookies

(Taken from- not adapted because I didn’t change a thing-  from Bon Appetit)

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup minced crystallized ginger
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup light (mild-flavored) molasses
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated fresh peeled ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/3 cup (about) sugar
  • Preheat to 350°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Whisk flour, crystallized ginger, baking soda, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until creamy and light, about 2 minutes. Gradually beat in both brown sugars. Beat on medium-high speed until creamy, about 3 minutes. Add egg, molasses, fresh ginger, ground ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. Beat to blend. Add flour mixture in 2 additions, beating on low speed just to blend between additions.

    Place 1/3 cup sugar in small bowl. Measure 1 tablespoon dough. Roll into ball between palms of hands, then roll in sugar in bowl to coat; place on baking sheet. Repeat with remaining cookie dough, spacing cookies 1 1/2 to 2 inches apart.

    Bake cookies until surfaces crack and cookies are firm around edges but still slightly soft in center, about 15 minutes. Cool completely on sheets on rack

    One Comment leave one →
    1. December 6, 2009 4:57 am

      I made a ginger cookie recently and it was great. As I look at your recipe, I see I can make one that should be even greater. Ginger gives such a distinct and pleasant taste to those cookies.

    Leave a Reply

