Skip to content

Persimmon Cranberry Sauce

December 1, 2009

Okay, I give up.  I’ve been sitting here for at least 20 minutes trying to write about cranberry sauce.  I have deleted every sentence I’ve written (except for the recipe, which was copied and pasted).  Cranberry sauce is apparently a very difficult thing to write about in an interesting way.

I opted out of the normal cranberry sauce this year and tried a new recipe with a fruit I’ve never even eaten before.  Persimmons look like tomatoes with funny leaves.  Nate thought the fruit tasted like a cinnamony tomato (ewwww), but I would describe it as sweet, but not over-poweringly so, and without any overwhelming flavor.  It was the perfect addition to a tart cranberry sauce because it added some sweetness and didn’t detract from the  flavor of the cranberries.

Moving away from the cranberry sauce and on to some other stuff.  I was excited to get to use for the first time my grandmother’s china that was given to my godmother, who then gave it to me.  It’s always fun to use grown-up dishes and pretend I’m a mature adult.

We fried the turkey this year, which I luckily had no part in.  A big vat of hot oil and no fire extinguisher (I know, I know) is not something I want to get near.  Yup, I left that one to the experts.  There’s a significant amount of equipment involved in turkey frying and it can’t be done inside because you might burn your house down.  And that would obviously suck. 

We also discovered that the absolute maximum number of people we can fit around the dining room table is nine. 

I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving and that you’re doing something tasty with all your leftovers, including finding a way to use all your cranberry sauce! 🙂

Persimmon Cranberry Sauce

(From Gourmet)

  • 3/4 lb fresh or frozen cranberries (3 1/2 cups)
  • 1/4 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 star anise or 1/4 teaspoon star-anise pieces
  • 1/2 to 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3 firm-ripe Fuyu persimmons (about 1 lb total), peeled and cut into 1/4-inch dice

Bring cranberries, wine, water, star anise, 1/2 cup sugar, and a pinch of salt to a boil in a 2-quart heavy saucepan, stirring occasionally, then reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes. Add more sugar, to taste (up to about 2 1/2 tablespoons), and discard star anise. Fold in persimmons.

Transfer to a bowl and serve at room temperature or chilled. Stir gently before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

