Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Gingerbread House

December 27, 2009

I loved this month’s Daring Bakers Challenge– it was awesome.  One of the problems for me with Daring Bakers is that after I cook something delicious and sweet, I have to eat it.  Essentially, Daring Bakers isn’t really don’t my scale any favors.  But who wants to a eat stale, hard-as-a-rock gingerbread house??  Not me!  Problem solved.

We had to make gingerbread houses and I decided to make a gingerbread barn, complete with a horse and fence.  If you look closely at the horse, you’ll see that not only is it way too tall to fit through the stall door, but also that it looks more like a Brontosaurus.

Details, details….

I was pretty happy with how it turned out and also because it stayed together.  The only thing that broke was one of the horse’s legs and that was because I dropped it.  Oops.

I think Nate thought I was crazy, and he asked several times about “the mess on the dining room table.”  There were gingerbread chunks, candy cane shards, dried bits of icing and other paraphernalia pretty much all over for a solid 5 days while I assembled the whole thing.

Making the gingerbread house was extremely time-intensive (one evening I made the dough and my barn template, the next night I baked the pieces, the next day I decorate the walls and ceiling, and the day after that I put everything together and rebaked the parts that I’d measured incorrectly, which I then had to let cool and decorate) and the finished product took up half of the dining room table.  That being said, it was only around for about a week before I threw it away.  It was surprisingly difficult to take apart– week-old royal icing is like super glue!

I was proud of my gingerbread barn, and if I ever make a gingerbread house/barn/whatever again I’ll scale it down a bit.  Perhaps if I’d made this one smaller it would still be around, but in the end, the other more commonplace uses for a dining room table (such as, you know, eating dinner) won out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. culinography permalink
    December 27, 2009 4:19 pm

    Love your gingerbread barn! And I LOVE the horse!

  2. December 27, 2009 8:18 pm

    Wow! great attention to detail… I love the fence and the horse/llama??! Well whatever it is, it’s uber-cute. Way to go on this month’s challenge and keep up the wonderful bakes for the New Year!

  3. December 28, 2009 12:12 am

    I love the barn! It’s so cute! And I’d personally rather have a brontosaurus than a horse any day.

  4. December 28, 2009 3:53 am

    It definitely showes that it took you four days to make this ginger barn, because it looks just stunning. I whipped up my house in one day and one evening, but must say the end results isn’t as precise as it could have been. Are those PEZ on your roof? Brilliant.

    http://mangerie.blogspot.com/2009/12/het-kerstdessert-met-hoofdletters.html

Leave a Reply

