Skip to content

2010 Cooking Resolutions

January 1, 2010

Happy New Year!  It’ll be exciting to see what 2010 holds for all of us, and I’ve got a couple of cooking resolutions to keep things interesting on this end.

  • Cook with the “scary” root vegetables: I’ve avoided parsnips, rutabagas and turnips like the plague for no other reason than because they look funny.  I mean, at least beets are a pretty color, right?  Well, it’s time to get over my fear and bite the bullet (or parsnip/rutabaga/turnip, as it were).
  • Make a souffle:  From what I hear, it’s really not that hard.  So why haven’t I made one yet?  I don’t know, but it’s high time that changed.
  • Cook something with collard greens:  Can you believe that even after living in Georgia for two years I’ve still never had collards?  I was discussing this particular resolution with Nate, and I said I’d make something with collards, bacon and onions.  He informed me that would be cheating because bacon and onions make everything taste good, so I’ll try to eliminate the bacon, but onions may be hard to do.
  • Further my bread-making capabilities: This year, I made more bread then I ever had before.  There was olive oil bread, no-knead bread, pizza crust, and Moldovan placinta.  In 2010 I’m going for naan,  cinnamon rolls, and brioche, plus whatever else happens to come along.
  • Waste less food:  This is going to be a hard one.  There’s always a couple of carrots or scallions in the veggie drawer that get soggy, or some left over tomato paste that gets moldy.  This year hopefully I’ll be able to keep that one to a minimum.

I’ll probably add to this list when a new idea pops into my head, but I’m shooting for manageable resolutions that I can actually accomplish.  I am remarkably bad at  keeping my New Year’s resolutions, so we’ll see what happens when I revisit these resolutions at the end of 2010!

I hope everyone has a great 2010, and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

