Skip to content

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

January 22, 2010
tags:

Why is it so hard to make good blueberry muffins?  They can leaden paperweights,  too cake-like and sweet (we’re not going for cupcakes), dry and unpleasant, or any other number of problems.  I’d say these fell into the “dry” category, but not “unpleasant.”  They were definitely best on the first day when the tops were crispy; the quality deteriorated rapidly after that.

Let’s talk for a minute about muffin cup liner-papery-things.  My question is this: why would you ever use them??  If you’re making cupcakes, I can see a strong argument for using liners since you have the frosting and so forth, but with muffins?  No.  All you get is a muffin that sticks to the liner or a liner that won’t come off completely, and you either wind up eating less muffin or some paper.  Crappy options, if you ask me.  Plus, it’s just another thing you have to buy and even more waste when everything is said and done.

Okay, I’m done now.

Really, these muffins weren’t that bad.  After all, I don’t think they merit a “disaster” tag.  Maybe I over-stirred them and that’s why they were dry.  Who can say?  I don’t know what about them launched me into a squirrely tirade.  I will give a blueberry muffins another shot with a different recipe, although not any time soon.  In fact, I won’t be doing much cooking at all for the next month.  I wonder what that will be like? 

So,  I’m leaving this weekend to go to Liberia and Ghana for four weeks for work.  I’ll still be blogging, although less often than usual.  I’ll be back in a month with great pictures, a tan and hopefully not malaria!

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

(Adapted from Gourmet)

  • 3/4 stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups blueberries (7 1/2 oz)

Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 400°F.

Whisk together butter, brown sugar, milk, and egg in a bowl until combined well. Whisk together flour, baking powder and soda, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl. Add milk mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in blueberries gently.

Divide batter among muffin cups and bake until golden brown and a wooden pick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

