Skip to content

Rice, anyone?

February 10, 2010

Greetings from Liberia!  Since this is technically a blog about food, I thought I’d share some of the local fare with you.  I’m here to help with an applied entomology training, and each day lunch is prepared and served at our training venue (which is kind of in the middle of no where).  The food at my hotel is much less exciting, since it’s mostly western-ish food.  By the time lunch rolls around about 1:30 or 2:00 pm, I’m so hungry I’ll eat whatever is put in front of me.

This was my lunch last Wednesday: fish and chicken with cassava greens and rice.  Once I got past what it looked like and the fact that I was indeed eating leaves (not like lettuce, but rather actual leaves– “greens” sounds more appetizing, huh?) it was actually pretty good.

This was my lunch last Thursday: fish and chicken with bitter ball sauce and rice.  Bitter balls look like a cross between little peppers and tomatoes, and in Ghana they are apparently called “garden eggs.”  They don’t really taste like anything in particular, and this didn’t strike me as overly bitter, but maybe that’s because it was so darn spicy.

And this was my lunch on last Friday: fish, chicken and a crawfish with beans and rice.  This was really good.  I had to stop myself from eating all of it. 

Many Liberians will tell you that they haven’t had a meal until they’ve eaten rice– it is the staple carbohydrate here, like pasta is in Italy and like potatoes in Eastern Europe.  Me, well, I could go without so much rice, and I’ve eaten more rice in the past two and half weeks than I usually would in a year. 

Next stop: Ghana!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

