Skip to content

Chicken Noodle Soup

March 10, 2010
tags:

Last night Nate and I went to a Dropkick Murphys concert and it was awesome, in a bagpipes and kilts kind of way.  The only problem was that it was deafeningly loud and when the little hairs in your ears that pick up sound get damaged, there’s no going back.  On the metro ride home, I swore the conductor said something about  star troops and black holes, but Nate contends he was talking about large groups and the platform.  Those metro conductors have been known to say some zany stuff, and my version is much more entertaining anyway.  And my left ear is actually sore.  Who knew that could be possible? 

What, you may be wondering, does this have to do with chicken noodle soup?  Absolutely nothing.  But I couldn’t think of anything else to write.  Some foods, you see, are easier to write about than others.  I could wax poetic about desserts until the cows come home, but when it comes to soup, I get a bit stuck. 

I will say this: I made this soup one night when it was freezing outside and I had a bad cold.  Chicken noodle soup is the ultimate comfort food, said to remedy the worst of colds and to warm up those chilly nights.  Then the next day my cold went away and it was 60 degrees outside.  What?!?

And now we have like 3 gallons of soup to eat and it’s getting warmer outside by the day.  Personally, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it gets really cold and snowy again, since I was in Africa the last time that happened.  Blasphemous, I know, but what I’m hoping for is a cold and snowy snap that lasts about 2 weeks and then it gets warm and sunny again.  Then I could finally get to build that snowman.

Chicken Noodle Soup

(Adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

This makes a lot of soup. Unless you’re feeding an army, you may just want to clear out some room in your freezer now. I increased the amount of veggies in the recipe, since the soup was a little noodle- and chicken-heavy.  You may also want to spoon off some of the fat from the broth after you boil your chicken if you’re the kind of person who doesn’t like to see a thin layer of grease on top of their soup.  If you have a high metabolism or this doesn’t bother you, more power to you! (FYI I copied and pasted this recipe from PW’s site, so don’t blame the random capitalization on me.  I’m just too lazy to fix it.)

  • 1 whole Fryer Chicken
  • 4 whole Carrots, Diced
  • 4 stalks Celery, Diced
  • 1 Medium Onion, Diced
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Turmeric
  • ¼ teaspoons White Pepper (more To Taste)
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Thyme
  • 2 teaspoons Parsley Flakes
  • 1 bag Egg Noodles
  • 3 Tablespoons All-purpose Flour
Cover chicken in 4 quarts water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove chicken from pot with a slotted spoon. With two forks, remove as much meat from the bones as you can, slightly shredding meat in the process. Return bones to broth and simmer on low, covered, for 45 minutes.

Remove bones from broth with a slotted spoon, making sure to get any small bones that might have detached.

Add the carrots, celery and onions to the pot, followed by the herbs and spices. Stir to combine and simmer for ten minutes to meld flavors.

Increase heat and add frozen egg noodles and chicken. Cook for 8 to 10 minutes.

Mix flour and a little water. Stir until smooth. Pour into soup, stir to combine, and simmer for another 5 minutes, or until broth thickens a bit. Test and adjust seasonings as needed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

