Skip to content

Curry Roasted Cauliflower

March 16, 2010

Sometimes I struggle over whether or not to blog about something.  For instance, sandwiches.  If I made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, will I write about it?  Of course not.  But if I made a sandwich so heavenly that Nate will go to the grocery store  just so I’ll make it for him… well then, that is probably a sandwich worth mentioning.

Which brings us to the subject of this post.  If I sprinkle some spices and drizzle some olive oil over a vegetable and roast it, does that deserve to be blogged about?  Meh.  What if the only picture I have of the finished product is so terrible, it makes me want to cover my eyes and cry?  Definitely not.  But if I hate nearly all vegetables and the previously-mentioned roasted veggie is enough to possibly turn my life around?  Okay, I’ll talk about it.

That said, here are the vegetables I like: asparagus, brussel sprouts, mushrooms and tomatoes.  One could say, theoretically of course, that I don’t eat enough veggies.  I think they’re gross.  Salad?  Unless there’s enough other stuff that I don’t notice the lettuce, no thanks.  I can’t help it.

In an act of pure desperation to make an edible vegetable dish, I thought I’d roast some cauliflower with curry powder and cumin.  Holy smokes!  The cauliflower went from tragic and flavorless to nutty, a little spicy and soooo good!

That being said, remember what I said a couple of paragraphs earlier about tragically bad pictures of the finished product?  Right….. picture roasted cauliflower that is brown around the edges, caramelized and crispy looking.  That’s the photo I wish I had.

Roasted Spicy Cauliflower

1 head of cauliflower (more if you’re feeding more than two people), rinsed and cut into one to two inch florets

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Toss together all ingredients and spread out in one layer in a 9×13 inch glass pan (glass allows for better caramelization than metal).  Bake for 20 to 35 minutes, stirring occasionally, until golden brown and crispy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsten permalink
    March 21, 2010 6:10 pm

    I made this for lunch! It was my second time making cauliflower in my life because I really don’t like it…but this was soooo yummy! Cauliflower is on the grocery list so I can make it again!

    • March 22, 2010 11:55 am

      I guess disliking cauliflower must be genetic 🙂 I just bought another head at the grocery store to make this week for dinner. I’m glad you liked it!!

  2. March 26, 2010 11:26 am

    I’m not a big fan of cauliflower. I’ll eat it if someone serves it but I don’t generally buy it and make it myself. So far I like it best served with cheese, as in the cheese flavor overrides the cauliflower flavor. This recipe has inspired me to go buy it and make it!

Leave a Reply

