Skip to content

Chocolate Stout Cake

March 26, 2010

I cannot leave chocolate cake well enough alone.  What is wrong with me?

At least this time we had friends over and I gave them half of the left-over cake.  I do learn from my mistakes, thank goodness.  Although I think that even if I hadn’t unloaded half the cake on our unsuspecting dinner guests, Nate and I probably would have been able to finish it.  In fact, I can say with relative certainty that he ate more of it than I did.  He even said it was his most favorite baked item that I’ve made yet, after brownies, of course. 

This cake could have been a disaster.  I was getting ready to pour it into the cake pans when I realized I hadn’t added the baking powder.  Whoops.  And I nearly forgot the salt too.  Double oops.  Luckily there were minimal baking soda pockets and  Nate wouldn’t have known anything was wrong if I hadn’t exclaimed a colorful expletive at the top of my lungs.  He asked what was wrong and when I said nothing he got even more worried.  What the people you cook for don’t know won’t hurt them…. (usually).

And the frosting…. don’t even get me started.  I kept going back to the fridge to “check on it” to see if it had “reached spreadable consistency,” but, let’s be honest, really I was just looking for an excuse to shove a spoon in the bowl and lick it clean.  The combination of chocolate and cream is dangerous, for sure.   

I think this cake has officially scratched my chocolate itch, and I should be good for now.  Perhaps “now” will only be today, perhaps it will be a week, but I’ve already started researching other chocolate cake recipes for when the next occasion arises.  Gotta be prepared!

Chocolate Stout Cake

(Adapted from Bon Apetit)

The original recipe is double what you see below.  Half of the recipe is just right for 2 9-inch cake pans, or also for a bundt cake.  The frosting is a simple ganache and you’ll have some left-over, but you can reheat it slightly and use it as fudge sauce or just eat it straight (which is what I did).

Cake

  • 1 cup stout (such as Guinness)
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (preferably Dutch-process)
    2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup sour cream

Icing

  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1 pound bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped

For cake:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter two 9-inch round cake pans with 2-inch-high sides. Line with parchment paper. Butter paper. Bring 1 cup stout and 1 cup butter to simmer in heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add cocoa powder and whisk until mixture is smooth. Cool slightly.

Whisk flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in large bowl to blend. Using electric mixer, beat eggs and sour cream in another large bowl to blend. Add stout-chocolate mixture to egg mixture and beat just to combine. Add flour mixture and beat briefly on slow speed. Using rubber spatula, fold batter until completely combined. Divide batter equally among prepared pans. Bake cakes until tester inserted into center of cakes comes out clean, about 35 minutes. Transfer cakes to rack; cool 10 minutes. Turn cakes out onto rack and cool completely.

For icing:
Bring cream to simmer in heavy medium saucepan. Remove from heat. Add chopped chocolate and whisk until melted and smooth. Refrigerate until icing is spreadable, stirring frequently, about 2 hours.

Place 1 cake layer on plate. Spread 2/3 cup icing over. Top with second cake layer. Spread 2/3 cup icing over. Top with third cake layer. Spread remaining icing over top and sides of cake.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    March 29, 2010 10:38 am

    I made the cake with my grandmother’s recipe caramel frosting for my father-in-law’s birthday this Sunday. Co-workers got the leftovers today and have had nothing but rave reviews!! I personally prefer the fudgey, brownie type chocolate cakes, but I do agree it is mighty tasty. Thanks!

    • March 31, 2010 10:00 am

      I’m so glad everyone liked it! The chocolate flavor is a little muted in comparison with some other chocolate cakes out there, but I think that’s so you can taste the flavor of the guinness 🙂

Leave a Reply

