Skip to content

Prosciutto and Balsamic Onion Pizza

April 6, 2010

This past Saturday, while I was slaving away like a mad woman in the kitchen, I forgot to make myself something to eat.  Five o’clock rolled around, and I realized I was really hungry after having eaten a couple bites here and tastes there, but no actual food.  At that point I’d made three different kinds of bread dough, all of which were in various stages of fermentation, and I happily realized that one of those doughs was my basic pizza crust recipe.  So I decided to make myself a pizza!  And better yet, I could keep the whole pizza just for myself because Nate was in Chicago!  Win, win!  (Yes, that many exclamation marks really are necessary.)

I took off my apron, brushed off my flour-covered shirt and shorts, and headed down the street to buy some mozzarella and prosciutto, and then I set to work making one of the best pizzas I’ve had in a while.  Now, I love pizza, and usually I’m a strictly pepperoni-with-mushrooms-olives-and-onions kind of gal, but this pizza was right-darn-tasty.  And it worked out perfectly because I had time to put together the ingredients while the oven heated.

Needless to say, I enjoyed this pizza all by myself, sitting on the couch, watching tv and giving myself a well-deserved break.  From here on out, whenever we have a pizza night, I can guarantee that this one will show up on the menu!

Prosciutto and Balsamic Onion Pizza

(Inspired by this recipe from Bon Apetit)

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 12-ounce red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 lb fresh mozzarella, sliced thin and pressed dry
  • 4 slices prosciutto
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • 1/8 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 10-inch unbaked pizza crust
  • Heat 2 tablespoons oil in heavy medium skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and sauté until golden, about 12 minutes. Add vinegar. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer until liquid cooks away and onion is very tender, about 4 minutes; season onion with salt and pepper.

    Position rack in bottom-most position in the oven. Place heavy large baking sheet on rack (invert sheet if rimmed) or use a pizza stone. Preheat oven to 500°F at least 30 minutes. Roll out dough on lightly floured piece of parchment paper to 10-inch round, allowing dough to rest a few minutes if it springs back. Sprinkle flour on pizza paddle or another rimless baking sheet. Trim the parchment paper to within an inch of the crust (depending on how hot your oven is the parchment paper could catch on fire if there is too much hanging over the sides).  Slide under dough. Brush the tomato sauce on the crust, leaving 1/2-inch plain border. Sprinkle with mozzarella, then lay the prosciutto flat on the cheese and sprinkle with balsamic onion.  Sprinkle with parmesan. Slide the pizza into the oven onto the pizza stone or baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, or until golden brown and bubbly.

    One Comment leave one →
    1. Bob Evans permalink
      April 9, 2010 2:19 pm

      Kathryn, I noticed your blog just recently with the recipe for Moldovan Paskha. (As a result of about three years of service in Moldova, I have many friends there and a well-developed taste for the cuisine). I think I have the Peace Corps cookbook you mention in the recipe. But I wanted to comment here about the pizza stone, the one which broke on you. This is usually due to a rapid change in temperature, especially in only a part of the stone. The best example of this is when some of the oils from the cheese or toppings leak from the top of the pie onto the stone. When the stone cools down after baking, these hot oils on just a part of the stone may cause a split. If the break is a clean one, you can still use the stone by fitting the pieces together. I usually use parchment paper just for certain breads, not for pizzas. For pizza, I usually sprinkle some cornmeal onto the “peel” (pizza paddle), then set the opened and thrown or rolled out dough on it, test it for mobility with the shake of the wrist, fill the pizza, then slide it on to the hot stone in the oven. The corn meal keeps it from sticking and also won’t burn, the way that flour will. Keep up the good work.

    Leave a Reply

