Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Sticky Toffee and Fig Pudding

April 27, 2010

This Daring Baker’s Challenge was an interesting one.  We were supposed to use an ingredient that I’d never heard of before and make something that I would never have thought of making.  We were charged with making a traditional English pudding, and our special ingredient was suet.  Suet is, according to wikipedia, “raw beef or mutton fat, especially the hard fat found around the loins and kidneys.”  Uh, ewww

First I checked to see if I was in the Daring Cook’s forum instead, since this neither involved baking, nor was it sweet.  Sure enough, it was the DB challenge for April, and as I read further I discovered I was only required to make a pudding and to use suet or something similar.  Butter is considered to be similar to suet, since it is also a fat.  They provided a link to The Pudding Club, so I went there and chose to make this recipe instead.

This actually turned out to be the easiest DB challenge in which I’ve ever participated.  The hardest part was, honestly, trying to secure a covering onto the bowl I was steaming the pudding in so wouldn’t get wet.  I didn’t have any string or rope, so I tried to use floss.  Floss, for the record, stretches and it is not suitable for securing a covering onto your pudding bowl.  Luckily this still turned out well!

I’ve  never steamed anything but veggies before, so it was kind of fun to essentially cook a cake using steam.  And the cake was really good.  It’s also the first DB challenge that I feel like I could easily adapt and try with other ingredients and flavors.  Here’s to Daring Bakers for making me try something I never would have thought of on my own!

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

Sticky Toffee and Fig Pudding

(Adapted from The Pudding Club)

3.5 tbsp butter

4 tbsp light brown sugar

8 dried figs, chopped

scant 1/2 c hot water

1 1/2 c plain flour

3/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp vanilla

1 egg

Sauce

1 tbsp butter

6 tbsp brown sugar

1/3 c heavy cream

Melt sauce ingredients together and put in to the base of a greased 1.1 litre pudding bowl, or a medium-size glass bowl.

Put chopped dates in the hot water, add baking soda, vanilla and baking soda, leave to soak for 10 minutes.

Cream together butter and sugar, beat in the egg gradually.  Add dates, water and flour and mix well.  Pour mixture on to the sauce, cover and steam for 1.5 hours.

The sauce and sponge mixture mix together while cooking.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob Evans permalink
    April 27, 2010 10:07 am

    Kathryn, as you probably found out, suet is a bit difficult to find in most large cities in the U.S., whereas it is a traditional ingredient in the U.K. The British “Christmas Pudding” is also known as “Figgy Pudding” (as in the Christmas Carol, “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”). Over here, the same desert is more commonly known as Fruit Cake. In London, it is easy to find a Fruit Cake (or Christmas Pudding) mold with a snap on lid, but you seem to have done great with your improv. Finally, just a side comment: in the U.K. in the 70’s, the term “in the Pudding Club” was a common slang for being pregnant. I don’t know if it still is, as language and slang change constantly, but there you have it.

  2. April 27, 2010 10:36 am

    Ha! I had no idea that that was even a slang term!

    I actually decided to make this pudding because I’d heard of figgy pudding in a number of Christmas songs and I thought it might be interesting to give it a try. Frankly, I was surprised how easy it was to make!

  3. April 27, 2010 12:07 pm

    Great job on your challenge! Funny that you tried floss and found out it stretches with the steam, now I have a fun little fact about floss!

  4. April 28, 2010 2:45 pm

    Mmmmm *drool*, your pudding looks so yummy and deliciously sweet! Way to go on this month’s challenge, can’t wait to see what you whip up next month. Keep it up 🙂

  5. April 29, 2010 10:45 pm

    lol cool stuff dude.

Leave a Reply

