Skip to content

Rhubarb Coffee Cake

May 13, 2010

Oh, boy.  If you looked at the picture above, you’ve probably noticed that something happened to this cake. 

No, it wasn’t mice.

And no one came along and picked off the sweet, crunchy nutty outer coating.  (Although now that I think about it, it’s not a bad idea.)

I forgot to grease the bundt pan.  Oops.  At least it still tasted good!

 If you look at the picture above you’ll see the yummy cinnamon, sugar and walnut topping in the bundt pan.  What’s missing?  The PAM/butter/something to keep the darn thing from sticking.

And this is what the pan looked like after the cake came out: 

😦  Not one of my prouder culinary moments.  It’s really pretty funny, actually.  In a tragic way.

I was so excited to finally make this coffee cake.  It’s rhubarb season and my mom has been making this coffee cake, one of the best ways to use rhubarb ever, for as long as I can remember and now I was finally going to make it.  I even bought a bundt pan specifically for the cake!  Just after I put the cake in the oven I remembered that I forgot to grease the pan, but there was really nothing I could do at that point.  I actually convinced myself that it wouldn’t stick since it was a non-stick pan… apparently melted sugar was just too much for the non-stick to handle. 

The coffee cake still tasted great and we had fun picking the melted sugar and crunchy bits out of the inside of the pan.  Honestly, the worst part was being constantly reminded of my mistake every time I looked at the cake (which is kind of stupid, really, since it’s just a coffee cake, and not anything actually important).  But we ate it in less than 24 hours, so I can’t complain too much.  And now I have the perfect excuse to make it again!

Rhubarb Coffee Cake

In a large bowl mix these ingredients:
1/2 C. softened butter (1 stick)
1 1/2 C. white sugar
1/2 t. salt
1 egg
1 t. baking soda in 1C. buttermilk
2 C + 1 T. flour
3 cups chopped rhubarb
1/4 t. cinnamon
 
Topping:
1/3 C. white sugar
1/3 C. chopped walnuts
3/4 t. cinnamon
 
In a bundt pan:
Grease the pan.
Pat the topping in the pan and shake it a bit to slightly coat the sides
Pour the cake into the pan and bake as directed.
 
Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees

Leave a Reply

