Skip to content

Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

May 21, 2010
tags: ,

What’s better than banana bread?

Banana bread cupcakes with peanut butter frosting, that’s what.  These puppies are awesome.

When my sister visited she went hog-wild buying stuff she can’t get in Italy.  Our house was flooded with peanut butter cups, donuts, cottage cheese, sea salt potato chips and hummus.  She also bought more bananas than she could eat, which meant I had to lift my banana ban and do something with them before they went bad.

Necessity is the  mother of invention, or so they say.  I needed to use up the bananas, Nate only eats bananas in banana bread-form and I needed something to bring to a friend’s barbeque, thus I wound up with banana cupcakes!

In my on-going quest to find the best way to frost cupcakes, I think I may have discovered something.  I put the frosting in a bag, snipped off the end and piped it onto the cupcakes in concentric circles.  Nate was watching me and he made the astute observation that the frosting looked like peanut butter dog poop.  Neither of us are really very mature.  Besides, he was right.  I took a spatula and flattened out the frosting, and I think the cupcakes actually look pretty nice!  This method looked better than just spreading the frosting on the cupcakes, and it took significantly less time than piping little stars of frosting onto each one.  Folks, I think we have a winner!

Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

(From Bon Appetit)

My only “problem” with this recipe is that it makes 12 cupcakes.  I stretched it to 15, and the cake came up the top of most of the cups when baked.  Besides that, I didn’t change a thing!  The reviews for this recipe talked about decreasing the butter and increasing the sour cream, which I nixed.  Others said they only made half the frosting, which seems like a bad idea to me.  There is nothing worse that making cupcakes and realizing you don’t have enough frosting.  I did have a little left over, but I love frosting so I’m not complaining.  Also, these cupcakes will fall a little after you take them out of the oven, but they are still fully cooked!

Cupcakes:

  • 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 very ripe large bananas, peeled
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk

Frosting:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter (do not use old-fashioned or freshly ground)

For cupcakes:
Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Line 12 standard (1/3-cup) muffin cups with paper liners. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl to blend. Mash bananas with fork in another medium bowl until smooth. Mix sour cream and vanilla into bananas.

Using electric mixer, beat sugar and butter in large bowl until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and egg yolk and beat until well blended. Add flour mixture in 3 additions alternately with banana-sour cream mixture in 2 additions, beginning and ending with flour mixture and beating just until blended after each addition. Divide batter among prepared muffin cups.

Bake cupcakes until tester inserted into center of each comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer cupcakes to rack and let cool completely.

For frosting:
Sift powdered sugar into large bowl. Add cream cheese, butter, and peanut butter. Using electric mixer, beat mixture until smooth. Spread frosting over top of cupcakes, dividing equally.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

