Skip to content

Time to Move Over

July 7, 2010

I’ve been doing less cooking these days.  And I’m not going to lie: it’s kind of nice.  Nate’s schedule has changed and he’s home now in the evenings (unless he’s travelling to places like Hawaii… not that I’m jealous or anything), which means dinner is a joint effort rather than me scrounging up something for myself. 

Here are a couple snapshots of things that Nate has made, all of which I will undoubtedly make again because they were extremely tasty and so I can blog about them in further detail and provide recipes.  One Saturday morning, Nate was like “Let’s make eggs benedict!”  and that we did.  I’ve mentioned how much we like to make big weekend breakfasts, but eggs benedict was a new one.  We toasted some homemade bread, fried up some ham, made hollandaise (easier than you’d expect), poached some eggs and that was it!  Nate even took the above picture.

One weeknight Nate decided he wanted to make meatloaf, so he found a recipe, went shopping, and made the meatloaf, mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes.  It was hands-down the best meatloaf I’ve ever had, and I usually don’t like meatloaf.  I’m not even a gravy person, and I went back for seconds of everything.  I plan on making this next week. 

And then we have this gazpacho, which seriously rivals anything I ate while I lived in Spain.  This is the Cook’s Illustrated gazpacho and it is perfect for hot summer days.  (Speaking of which, can you believe this weather we’re having?  Ugh.)  Nate is almost more enthusiastic about the issues of Cooks Illustrated that we get every two months than I am.  With each issue, he finds at least 3 or 4 things he wants to make, and then he goes to the grocery store, comes home and makes them.  It’s awesome.  I need to make this gazpacho again soon too.  It’s just a matter of braving the heat/humidity and walking to the car to drive to the grocery store!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elle permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:34 pm

    I found your blog through Food News Journal and wondered if the recipes for the wonderful meatloaf and the gazpacho are available. I have been looking for a worthwhile recipe for each of these and sounds like the ones you posted about might be the answer. Look forward to hearing from you.

  2. July 25, 2010 12:22 pm

    Have just tried the Gaspacho and it’s oh so scrummy even dear old aged male that I share my life with enthused so how about giving the recipe for the meat loaf, as that looks equally scrummy.

Trackbacks

  1. Gazpacho « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

