Skip to content

German Pancake

July 13, 2010

Move over poached eggs: there’s a new star in the weekend breakfast show. 

German pancakes, also known as Dutch babies (what?), are like a popover mixed with a pancake mixed with an egg custard.  In other words, it’s my idea of heaven with maple syrup.  The other awesome thing about German pancakes is that they take hardly any effort on your part. All you have to do is mix together the batter, pour it into a hot pan and pop it in the oven!  There’s no standing over a hot stove flipping pancakes for 15 or 20 minutes and then trying to keep the finished pancakes warm without them drying out (which for me involves putting pancakes in the oven, occasionally dropping a couple, and much undue stress).

The photo above is of the pancake batter before putting it in the oven, and the photo below is how it looked after it finished baking.  Pretty cool, huh?? The pancake (unfortunately) starts to fall the minute you take it out of the oven, and I wish I could figure out how to get that to not happen.  For all I know, it may not be possible.  Inflated or not, these pancakes are definitely one of my favorites.  However, whether German pancakes reheat better than normal pancakes still remains to be seen.  I’ll be testing that out tomorrow morning!

German Pancake

(Serves 3-4)

I used an oven-safe skillet to make this pancake.  Sometimes non-stick skillets release chemicals into the food if you expose them to high temperatures, so it’s better to use something that’s not non-stick.  Also, if your skillet has rubber on the handle, wrap it in aluminum foil to keep if from melting (and smelling REALLY bad).  The pancake will start to fall immediately after you take it out of the oven, so it’s best to start serving it right away.  You can sprinkle it with powdered sugar or top it with fresh fruit or maple syrup (I used all three).

4 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 c milk

2 tbsp melted butter

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp sugar

1 c flour

2 tbsp butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Once oven reaches 425, put the skillet in the oven for 10 minutes to heat up.

Whisk together the eggs, vanilla, milk, melted butter, salt and sugar.  Then whisk in the flour.  Remove the hot pan from the oven and put the additional 2 tbsp of butter in the pan– swirl until melted (alternatively, during the pan’s last 2 minutes in the oven, put the butter in and it will melt while in the oven).  Pour the batter into the pan and bake at 425 for 15 minutes.  Lower heat to 350 and bake for 12-15 more minutes, or until puffy and brown.

Remove from oven and serve immediately.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirsten permalink
    July 13, 2010 10:31 am

    is this kind of like umcaca? it looks SO GOOD!!!

    • July 13, 2010 11:35 am

      This is exactly like umcaca! It’s super yummy and it reminds me of all those times we had it in Pohnpei 🙂

  2. July 14, 2010 6:16 am

    Hey, nice pancake recipe you got here. I think my kids will find this German pancake pretty interesting. I will surely give it a go. Pancakes are part of our morning rituals. So with 4 kids I’m really running out of pancake recipes to make, lol! I really have to keep my recipe book updated to keep the young ones interested, lol! Thanks for sharing this one.

    • July 14, 2010 9:24 am

      Thanks! The first time I had a German pancake was when I was maybe 6 or 7, and it was my absolute most favorite thing to eat for breakfast. I’m guessing your kids will love it too 🙂 And thanks for checking out my blog!

  3. MOoo permalink
    July 16, 2010 4:13 pm

    I guess, this isn’t really a German pancake… Either they actually have another name or these are not pancakes… Original German pancakes nearly have the same recipe, but they are made in another way and look different from that 😉 and i really know that, because I’m German 😉

  4. MOoo permalink
    July 16, 2010 4:21 pm

    btw they still look yummi:)

  5. October 23, 2014 4:48 pm

    I have a recipe for “Volcano Pancakes” (google taste of home) that looks just like this when it comes out but DOES NOT fall at all 🙂 If you’ve wanted yours to stay up, try it sometime, it’s delish- probably tastes the same as yours!

Leave a Reply

