Skip to content

Curried Shrimp Pan Roast

July 14, 2010
tags:

Each weekend I like to make something that I’ll be able to take to work the following week for lunch.  Two weekends ago it was Southwestern Kebabs, and last weekend it was curried shrimp roast.  I stumbled across this recipe when I was looking at my friend’s Cooking Light, and I knew I had to try it.  Granted, the original recipe called for mussels rather than shrimp and I didn’t have a roasting pan, but I decided to give it a try anyway.

As tasty as the final product was, I hit a couple snags along the way.  I think my problems started when I apparently didn’t roast the potatoes for long enough initially.  Actually, scratch that.  They started when I didn’t use a roasting pan in the first place.  My puny 9 by 13 pan was overflowing and the ingredients were heaped on top of each other, which made everything cook slower.  So I had to keep the corn, potatoes, shrimp and tomatoes in the oven for about 30 minutes longer than anticipated in order for the potatoes to cook, which lead to over-baked corn and squishy tomatoes. Almost all the coconut milk evaporated, so there was no sauce.

For all my planning and effort (which luckily wasn’t that much), it turns out this is not the ideal workplace lunch.  First of all, it’s kind of bulky, what with the large chunks of corn on the cob, so I struggled to find a container I could transport it in.  I use glass containers rather than plastic, and many of my containers are former jam and marshmallow fluff (from this recipe, which I’ve made countless times) jars.  I eventually found an old large pickle jar, which is heavy and not so fun to carry.  Then there’s the issue of the shrimp.  I had to sit there and peel my shrimp at work, which was messy, labor intensive and attracts many funny glances.  Lastly: curry and seafood have a strong smell.  And it’s a smell not everyone likes.  Luckily I haven’t yet been banned from our group lunches in the conference room, but we’ll see what happens after I eat this for lunch again today.

At this point, I’m asking myself if I’d make this again.  Yes, I would, but here’s what I’d do differently: use a large roasting pan, roast the potatoes for more time initially, cover the pan with aluminum foil, and serve this for dinner rather than plan on eating it for lunch.  That said, hopefully I haven’t scared you away from this recipe, because it is flavorful and easy to make!

Curried Shrimp Pan Roast

(Adapted from Cooking Light)

You can use either shrimp or mussels– next time I’ll try to use mussels.  This recipe incorporates in my changes.

  • 1  pound  Yukon gold potatoes, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2  tablespoons  olive oil
  • 1 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 3  cups  cherry tomatoes
  • 3/4 to 1  cup  light coconut milk
  • 2  teaspoon  curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 4  medium ears fresh corn, shucked and cut crosswise into 2-inch pieces
  • 1  pound  mussels, scrubbed
  • 1  cup  chopped green onions
  • 3  tablespoons  chopped fresh cilantro

Preheat oven to 400°.

Combine potatoes, oil, 1/2 tsp salt, and pepper in a large roasting pan, tossing well to coat. Arrange potatoes in a single layer in pan. Bake at 400° for 40 minutes or until lightly browned, stirring after 10 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, coconut milk, curry powder, 1 tsp salt, and corn, scraping pan to loosen any browned bits. Nestle mussels into vegetable mixture. Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 400° for 15 minutes (bake for 25 minutes if using shrimp) or until potatoes are tender and mussels open. Discard any unopened shells. Stir in green onions and chopped fresh cilantro.

Spoon about 3 cups mussels mixture into each of 4 bowls; spoon cooking liquid evenly over top.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 2:13 pm

    I am absolutely in love with that first photo! Love the bowl full of color against that background. That background pattern is right up my alley… Love it!

    • July 14, 2010 3:18 pm

      Thanks! The background is actually an apron that a friend living in Bangkok sent me. Yay for multi-purpose kitchen tools 🙂

Leave a Reply

