Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Swiss Swirl Ice Cream Cake

July 27, 2010

This was an interesting, fun challenge primarily because Swiss rolls have a special place in my heart and because I’d never made an ice cream cake before.   It was also kind of tragic because Nate declared the cake too sweet, so he wouldn’t eat any of it.  That meant that in order to avoid eating the entire thing myself, a significant portion of it was thrown away. (Yes, I wrote that in passive voice.  I’m not ready to take responsibility for my actions.)

The original recipe called for a homemade fudge sauce to go with chocolate ice cream and chocolate Swiss rolls, but since it’s summer and I’m still working my way through tons of frozen strawberries, I decided to take a more fruity route and do strawberry sorbet and caramel sauce.  I also make vanilla Swiss rolls with strawberry filling.

Swiss rolls are near and dear to me because for an entire summer it was the only dessert I got to eat.  I was living in Jos, Nigeria doing my thesis research, and I discovered pretty quickly that most Nigerians don’t eat dessert.  If you want something sweet, eat some fruit.  But there was this one restaurant that was owned by some Lebanese people and they had a pastry case which contained all sorts of yummy-looking things.  Whenever I completed a monumentous task for my research, I would go to this restaurant and buy myself a Swiss roll.  I’d eat the Swiss roll slowly, savoring every bite and knowing that I’d earned that slice of heaven through all my hard work. (That sounds absurdly corny, but it’s true.  When you love dessert as much as I do and you only get to eat it every couple weeks, you need to make it last.)  So earlier this month when I got a chance to make a Swiss roll myself, I was excited to give it a try!

Swiss rolls are easier to make than I’d thought, and it was a struggle to use the slices for the ice cream cake rather than just eating them all right then.  And next time I make Swiss rolls I will definitely not freeze them, since the frozen filling is hard and has less flavor than when at room temperature. 

I think something went a little wrong with my cake when I flipped it over and cut into it because the caramel loosened and the bottom of the cake fell out.  Maybe I made my caramel too runny?  This was my first time making a caramel sauce, so it’s going to require some more experimentation before I get it right. 

The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 7:22 am

    Hmmmmm..looks wonderful
    http://forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com/

  2. January 23, 2014 1:56 am

    A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. Your cake recipe sounds delicious. I love Ice Cream Cake Roll!

    I came up with my own version of an Ice Cream Cake Roll. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2013/01/ice-cream-cake-roll.html

Leave a Reply

