Skip to content

Grilled Stuffed Figs

August 9, 2010
tags:

It’s been a little hectic around here lately.  I came home from work last Thursday to find the power lines to my apartment building (and the pole that was supposed to be holding them up) in a pile in the middle of the road, in addition to a number of fallen trees, lamp posts, bus signs, etc.  We didn’t get electricity back until Sunday, our internet is still nonfunctional, all the food in the fridge went bad, and, oh yeah, all this happened while I’m trying to pack for the move into our new house this coming Friday.  You know it’s a sad day when you have to use the skills you learned in Peace Corps (like how to take a bucket bath) in “real life.”  Plus, Nate is travelling for work again, so I’m stuck dealing with all of this by myself.  Needless to say, I’ve spent the past several days wallowing in self-pity and sweat.

You may be wondering what all this has to do with grilled stuffed figs.  Nothing, that’s what.  I just felt like complaining to the world, and since this is my blog, I can do pretty much whatever I want! (Within reason, of course.)

A couple weeks ago we went on a grilling spree, and this is one of maybe five grilling recipes that I’ll be sharing with you.  I’ve always been a sucker for fresh figs, and this idea came from Mark Bittman’s 101 Fast Grilling Recipes, which I have printed, sitting with my stack of cookbooks and other printed-out recipes.  I ate one of the stuffed figs raw and it was kind of mushy and gross, and I was seriously worried about what the grilled version would taste like.  I didn’t voice my doubts, and we grilled them anyways.  To my great surprise, they turned out fantastic!  They were sweeter and a little crunchy, and Nate (who historically doesn’t like sweet things) loved them.  Next I want to try a savory version with goat cheese and some fresh herbs…. yum!

If you don’t see much activity on over here the next couple of days, it’s because I’m a) packing; b) without internet; c) moving and unpacking; or d) enjoying the fact that we will soon have an awesome patio and a huge yard!

Grilled Stuffed Figs

8 ripe fresh figs
1/3 cup cream cheese
2-3 tsp honey
1/4 c chopped toasted almonds

Mix the cream cheese, honey and toasted almonds.  Cut a slit down the middle of the figs, being careful to not go all the way through.  Stuff the cream cheese mixture into the figs and grill until warm and a little brown.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 8:35 pm

    My mom and I LOVE figs- and these look heavenly, I really have to make these before I leave Monday!

    Also I’m so sorry about your apartment situation right now: sometimes it seems everything happens all at once…not good. But I’m sure these cheered you up and you’ll have your new house, with hopefully a huge kitchen to look forward too 🙂

  2. August 20, 2010 9:22 am

    I’m sorry to hear about the electricity being down, especially when you’re packing to move! Your figs look great; we just got some fresh ones and have been eating them plain.

  3. Kirsten permalink
    August 27, 2010 8:42 pm

    These look sooooooo good….I will definitely be making them when figs are in season here in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

