Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Ice Cream Petit Fours

August 27, 2010

I’m back!  Just barely, though, I should add.  It’s been an extremely busy time and I’d much rather be catching up on the True Blood episodes I’ve missed, but as a member of Daring Bakers I have obligations.  Like posting on the 27th of each month.  So here I am, on a Friday night, blogging.  No, I do not have a life (in case you were wondering).  To make matters worse, I just got home from Lowe’s, were I purchased all the necessary equipment so that I can spend tomorrow weeding our gardens.  That’s right.  WEEDING.  It turns out that when you buy a house, you also buy the land it sits on, which comes with its own set of responsibilities.

Moving on…. this months Daring Bakers challenge was an interesting one.  We were tasked with making browned butter pound cake (and ice cream.  Again.)  and then using that to make either Baked Alaska’s or Petit Fours.  I chose the Petit Fours because it’s something I’ve always wanted to try, and because meringue is tiresome with my hand-mixer.

The browned butter pound cake was awesome.  Definitely something I’d make again because the buttery, caramely flavor is fantastic.  But as far as the Petit Fours go….. ehh.  By freezing something, you take away a lot of the flavor, and biting into ice cream with my front teeth is uncomfortable.  I would have much rather served the pound cake warm (or even room temperature) with fresh berries and whipped cream than having had to freeze it.  It’s like refrigerating filet mignon and not being allowed to warm it up before you eat it.  Kind of tragic, really.  I can’t even taste the yummy pound cake in the Petit Fours because my teeth hurt so much.  (Hopefully one of the rules of Daring Bakers is not that you have to be polite.  What can I say… I’m feeling squirrely.)

That’s all for now.  True Blood (and Eric Northman) beckons.

The August 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Elissa of 17 and Baking. For the first time, The Daring Bakers partnered with Sugar High Fridays for a co-event and Elissa was the gracious hostess of both. Using the theme of beurre noisette, or browned butter, Elissa chose to challenge Daring Bakers to make a pound cake to be used in either a Baked Alaska or in Ice Cream Petit Fours. The sources for Elissa’s challenge were Gourmet magazine and David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop”.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 9:12 am

    Your petit fours look fantastic! I love the blue sprinkles.

Leave a Reply

