Skip to content

Some Firsts

September 23, 2010

I have a couple of new things to tell you about today.  Most importantly, we got our first dog!  Her name is Athena and she is the sweetest pup. She has taken over our lives, which is why this post is about her and not something new and yummy that I’ve whipped up.   This is what she looks like when she’s behaving:

She likes to lie down with her paws crossed.  Athena can be so lady-like.

And this is what she looks like when she’s playing:

Not so lady-like.  And a little scary.  All I have to say about that is that her playmate, Tobey, was the most patient dog alive, and I’m glad she was rough-housing with him and not me.  She likes to play (i.e. jump and nip), you see, and she doesn’t realize her teeth are sharp… luckily we have our first puppy obedience lesson on Saturday.

Now for my other piece of news:  it’s time for my blog’s first-ever giveaway!!  The nice people over at CSN stores are giving away a $35 coupon for any one of their 250 online stores (many of which sell kitchen-related stuff) to one of my readers!  Pretty cool, huh? 

In a theoretical world, I would maybe use that $35 towards a new dining table or maybe some place-mats, since Athena enjoys chewing on everything in sight and has made it her mission to destroy as many things as possible (latest victim: my laptop power cord.  RIP.)

To enter the giveaway, all you have to do is post a comment below on this entry and answer the following question: What is your favorite kitchen gadget?  I will randomly select a winner on Thursday, October 7 at 8:00 am EST.    The giveaway is over.  Thanks to those who entered!!

Oh, and if you win and you live in Canada (or any other country besides the U.S., I suppose), international shipping rates will apply to whatever it is you chose to buy.

Anyhoo, personally, I really love my pastry cutter, although I know that if I owned a stand mixer, that would be my most favorite, hands down.

Now it’s your turn!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Brianne permalink
    September 24, 2010 10:34 am

    First: Athena is adorable! Second: My favorite kitchen gadget is the pasta attachment for my kitchenaid mixer. A whole new world was opened to me when I could make my own spinach fettuccine.

  2. Jordan P permalink
    September 24, 2010 11:41 am

    My favorite kitchen gadget would have to be my Ninja food processor!!

  3. September 24, 2010 11:48 am

    My favorite these days is my Garlic Zoom — minces garlic in a flash, and it’s fun! and it goes in the dishwasher too. See http://www.chefn.com/Product.aspx?id=42

  4. September 24, 2010 7:49 pm

    I’m doing the same giveaway on my blog! FYI if you want to enter. 🙂

    My favorite kitchen gadget is my microplane zester. I use it for everything. Grating nutmeg, ginger and garlic, zesting citrus, shredding parmesan cheese. It’s an awesome tool.

  5. Melissa Gibson permalink
    September 26, 2010 5:16 pm

    You make me want to get a puppy now!! My fav kitchen gadget? Definately my crockpot!

  6. Cindi permalink
    September 27, 2010 3:32 pm

    Without a doubt, the microplane zester! A warning – I lost a beautiful Coach wallet and my husband lost a pair of leather work shoes to our sweet puppy. For some reason, the taste of leather (particularly expensive leather) is very appealing to puppies.

  7. Kirsten permalink
    September 28, 2010 7:57 am

    I don’t know if this is a “gadget” or not, but my halfmoon knife/chopper (mezzaluna). It makes chopping everything a ton faster and easier!

  8. Cindy permalink
    September 28, 2010 6:20 pm

    I love my Kitchen Aid… but this time of year I love my little apple de-corer. I like to eat them whole, skin in tact, but hate the leftover mess of the core, biting into seeds, etc. I de-core in the am, ziploc it, and have it at work for my am snack!

  9. Kate C permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:17 pm

    Hi Katie! I love reading your blog, though I don’t really cook. Hope your trip goes well. Oh, my favorite kitchen gadget is probably my zester. Most useful thing that anyone ever gave me and that I’d never have bought for myself!

  10. September 30, 2010 6:35 pm

    My favorite kitchen gadget is my colander. It was my grandma’s, is very old school, and definitely looks its age but I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

  11. Jennifer Mc permalink
    October 6, 2010 5:33 pm

    Congrats on the new pup. Athena is so cute. Hide the flip flops and hair ties. They don’t seem to out grow eating those. My absolute favorite kitchen gadget is my stnad mixer. It’s only a tiny one but I love it. Some day I’ll have the big Kitchen aid but until then.

  12. Lisa Hester permalink
    October 6, 2010 6:35 pm

    This will sound so dull. But I cannot do without my Pampered Chef spatula. It is part spoon and part spatula…and it lives on FOREVER! I use it every day.

  13. Christalaree permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:10 pm

    My favorite kitchen gadget is my cutting board with the attached measuring cups. makes life just a wee bit easier 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cream Cheese Brownies « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

