Skip to content

Cape Coast Getaway

November 12, 2010

Yikes.  Has it really been over a month since my last post?  Wow. 

I’ve been traveling for work pretty much consistently since August 20th, and when I get home next week, I’ll finally be able to stay in one place for more than 20 days at a time.  I haven’t really been doing much cooking, since all I want to do when I am home is relax.  And then when I do cook something, the last thing I want to do is find someplace with suitable light for picture-taking and delay the cooking process even further.  Hence the break from the blogging.  I’m currently in Nairobi, Kenya, and these are some photos from my most recent trip to Ghana. 

We took a weekend excursion to the Cape Coast, and it was an awesome trip.  After spending so much time in Accra, it was nice to get out of the city.  One of the most interesting things we did was a canopy walk in Kakum National Park.  It consisted of seven segments of rope bridge suspended above the canopy of the rainforest: 

It was HORRIFYING.  The key was to just keep walking and to look where you’re stepping, and nowhere else.  It was so humid and hot, I was dripping in sweat and my hands were slippery, and I just kept repeating to myself “You are not going to fall and die.”  Yes, I am afraid of heights.  When I finished I rewarded myself with a coconut:

I love fresh coconuts, I really do.  In Ghana they sell coconuts along the side of the road for 50 peswas (about 40 cents), and they hack of the top and you drink the milk.  After that they score the sides and you break it in half, eating the flesh with a “local” spoon (as shown in the photo above).  The highlight of that trip was getting a fresh coconut not once, but twice.  What that says about my trip, I’ll let you decide. 

While at the Cape Coast, we also went to a couple of slave castles.  This here is the Cape Coast Castle, which is the one Obama visited with his family last year.  I will say this about visiting the slave castles: never have I been so ashamed of my ancestry.  It’s a touchy subject that evokes a lot of emotion, and there’s no way you can walk down the same passageway that the slaves walked down to board the ships and not be horrified.  The aforementioned passageway is shown here, leading down to the shore:

We had a great trip to the Cape Coast, and it was nice to finally get to sink my toes into the sand and breath in the sea air.  What will be even nicer is finally getting to stay home for a little while.  My itch to travel has officially been over-scratched (which is something I never thought I’d say).  That said, hopefully I’ll get back to blogging regularly soon with some new recipes!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate C permalink
    November 12, 2010 9:20 pm

    Sounds, and looks, like so much fun! I’d love to be there. As of yet, nothing has over-scratched my travel itch! How long will you be home for, one you do get back?

  2. dorcas frimpong permalink
    August 21, 2014 11:48 am

    i also live in cape coast and think this place is great especialy on weekends

Trackbacks

  1. Türk Gıda « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

