Skip to content

Thanksgiving in the Keys

December 10, 2010

From the middle of August  until the middle of November, Nate and I were constantly travelling for work/never seeing each other/never ever relaxing, all on opposite schedules.  And somehow in the midst of all that we moved into our new house, got married and got a dog.  I don’t really know how we did it.  Anyhow, when I was in Kenya in November, Nate emailed me asking if I wanted to spend Thanksgiving with his parents at their house in the Florida Keys.  I literally jumped at the opportunity and frantically emailed him back (who cares if you’re in the middle of a meeting?).   After three months of absolute insanity, nothing sounded better than 5 days relaxing in the sun, kayaking and swimming in the ocean, and having nothing to worry about.  Luckily things played out and we both got the time off, so we set off on the 20-hour drive with our dog in the back seat.

We spent the night in South Carolina with Nate’s godparents on our way there and back.  They have an incredible house in a little peninsula in the marshes near the ocean.  It was great meeting them, but I think Athena had the most fun of all: she got to jump up on all the furniture and Nate’s godmother  fed her so many doggy biscuits she didn’t eat her dinner or breakfast the next morning.  This is the sunrise from their back porch:

We went kayaking, relaxed on the beach, went bike riding, laid around and read books, swam in the ocean, discovered that Athena hates to swim, and drank beer in the hot tube.  But for me the highlight of the trip to the Keys was all the seafood we ate.  Nate’s dad, Rob, made a surf and turf feast one night for dinner that involved lobster tails, stone crab claws and bacon-wrapped filet mignon.  I think I ate 4 bites of the filet so that I would have room for all the other yummy food.  Stone crab claws are literally the size of your hand.  The claws are pulled off of the live crabs, and the crabs are then thrown back in the ocean so they can grow more claws.  Seems like a great way to not kill off the crab population!  Although I guess I don’t know how many times they can survive getting their claws yanked off…

Extremely long car ride aside (and even that wasn’t too bad), we had a fantastic time!  Rob rents out their house in the Keys on a monthly basis, and you can read more about the house and renting opportunities on his blog, Mile Marker 23.  Hopefully we’ll get to go back some time in 2011!

(That’s Athena  and the first coconut she’s ever seen.  I think I’m turning into one of those people who always posts pictures of their  pets that they think are cute, but, in fact, are not that cute.  If this is indeed happening please let me know.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    December 11, 2010 7:29 am

    That picture of the coconut is cute to anyone that knows dog behavior, have no fear! I can see her head snapping back when a wave comes in and makes it appear the coconut is moving. I imagine she ended up pawing at it too? Glad you had a great birthday and Thanksgiving being able to recover from insanity 🙂

    • December 13, 2010 12:17 pm

      Thanks– I feel much better now! There were actually barnacles growing on the coconut so whenever a wave pushed it and she saw the barnacles she freaked out. I’m hoping for some snow one of these days, since I have no idea how she’ll handle that one!

  2. February 8, 2011 5:18 pm

    Katie,
    I stole your picture of the lobster for the house blog since the only one I had included some flank steak.
    Dad

Trackbacks

  1. Türk Gıda « Just Eat It

Leave a Reply

