Skip to content

Shame on Me (or 2011 Cooking Resolutions)

December 31, 2010

My attitude about New Years Resolutions is this: why set yourself up for failure?  It may seem pessimistic, but it’s true.  I remembered my 2010 Cooking Resolutions for about a month, and then I completely forgot them.  And I do mean completely.  When I look back at them now, it’s pretty pathetic how little I accomplished, really.  Let’s take a look, shall we?

These were my 2010 Cooking Resolutions:

  • Cook with the “scary” root veggies: nope, didn’t do this one.  I prefer to think that it’s because I was travelling throughout the fall, which is when I would have been most likely to do this.  But that’s not completely true, since they’re still in season and I could have theoretically done this yesterday.
  • Make a souffle: nada.  Although I have a reason: I don’t have the right dish.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.
  • Cook something with collard greens: nope.  Maybe I’ll allow bacon and onions back into the equation.
  • Further my bread-making capabilities: I actually kind of did this one!  I made cinnamon rolls, Moldovan pasca, grilled bread and I tried a new pizza crust recipe that was a colossal failure (and I do mean colossal.  The burn on my finger is still healing).  You won’t see links to all of it because I’ve been extremely lazy about blogging.
  • Waste less food: Does it count if I cook less, so there’s less in general to be wasted?  I think it does!

Well, I guess that really isn’t too bad.  Two out of five leaves room for improvement, but it’s better than zero out of five!  Now for my 2011 Cooking Resolutions:

  • Blog more: I have cooked a lot of great things lately, and I’m just too darn lazy to get out the camera.  I think I need to stop being lazy more than anything for this one.
  • Reconquer pie crust: I used to be so good at making pie crust.  But then over Thanksgiving I made a crust that was like cardboard and it was terrible.  You should never, ever be able to pick up a slice of pecan pie by the crust and eat it like pizza.
  • Plan better: I used to be good at this too.  Now every night we have the same conversation: “What should we have for dinner?” “I don’t know.  What do you want for dinner?”  “I don’t know. What do you think we should have?”  It’s sad.
  • Plant something: For our neighborhood, we have a really big yard.  We want to have a full-blown vegetable garden, but it’ll be a busy spring so we’ll see whether this plan comes to fruition.  “Something” could also be flowers, so hopefully I’m setting myself up for success! 

I’m hoping that if I’m able to actually do my resolutions, other things will just…. happen.  Like if I plan better, then I’ll remember I want to try making collards, so I’ll actually have the chance to buy collards and make something.  Or if I plant a garden that has parsnips in it, then I’ll have to cook with them.  I’m also writing down my resolutions and putting them on the fridge so I don’t forget them, which may be the most important thing of all!

I hope you had a great 2010, and here’s to an even better 2011!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:56 am

    I do miss your blogs – they inspire me to try more stuff! I read an article recently that the most common problem with keeping a healthy herb garden is people don’t use the plant enough. Definitely find something to garden that Athena won’t find too interesting…

    • January 9, 2011 2:13 pm

      It helps to know that people do actually ready my posts and try the stuff I make! 🙂 We “inherited” a pretty great herb garden from the people who lived here before us, although now I think it’s all dead since it got so cold. And we’re planning on putting chicken wire around everything that we plant since I have absolutely no doubt that Athena would love to ransack a nice healthy garden!

Leave a Reply

