Skip to content

Cookies & Cream Brownies

March 5, 2012

Okay.  I just sat here staring at my computer screen for like five minutes because I don’t know where to start with these brownies.  Hm.

Well, I guess I could start with telling you cookies and cream brownies are the best idea ever, and these sure do not disappoint.  I mean, you have brownies with oreos (I guess I should call them “chocolate sandwich cookies”) mixed in, and you have frosting with oreos mixed in.  Yes, please!

I don’t know why I’ve only been blogging lately about things that contain sugar or were baked in an oven.  I guess it’s because I think yummy baked things are more exciting than other stuff.  At this point, if you’re still reading my blog, you must think so too 🙂  Or you’re secretly hoping I’ll post about something without sugar that was cooked on the stovetop.  Well, thanks for sticking with me and hopefully I’ll get there soon!

Cookies & Cream Brownies
From Dishing Up Delights

The only “problem” I had with these brownies was that I had to buy a package of oreo, which I would never buy otherwise because I have no self-control and can eat a whole box. Luckily Nate was home that week, so he ate most of them! Oh, and after looking at the photos, apparently I need to bring my ISO down a few notches (note to self).

Makes 16 brownies

For the brownies:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into pieces, plus more for pan
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
8 crushed chocolate sandwich cookies

For the frosting:
4 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar
2-3 tablespoons heavy cream
7 crushed chocolate sandwich cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8-inch-square baking pan. Line bottom with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on two sides; butter paper.

In a heatproof bowl set over (not in) a saucepan of simmering water, combine butter and chocolate chips. Heat, stirring occasionally, just until melted, 3 to 5 minutes. Alternatively, combine butter and chocolate chips in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave for 3 minutes at 50% heat, stirring half way through.

Remove mixture from heat; stir in sugars and salt, then eggs, and finally flour, stirring just until combined. Fold in the crushed cookies. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with moist crumbs attached, 30 to 35 minutes. Cool the brownies in the pan for five minutes. Transfer the brownies to a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

To make the frosting:
In a stand mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy. Add the powdered sugar and then the cream until the frosting has reached the desired consistency. Fold in the crushed cookie pieces. Spread the frosting over the cooled brownies. Chill the brownies for at least 20 minute before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

