Skip to content

Strawberry Sorbet

March 16, 2012

I like to work from home every once in a while (who doesn’t?!), mostly because I am so much more productive.  Not just work-productive, but home-productive.  For one thing, my commute (roughly 45 minutes each way) is cut out.  Also, I don’t feel exhausted in the evening when I get home because I was home all day.  It’s great!  When I work from home, I put things away (to anyone who knows me, that is a real surprise), vacuum, do laundry, take the dog for longer walks, and, apparently, make sorbet.

To make a long-ish story short, I had a bunch of frozen strawberries that I semi-accidentally defrosted and didn’t want to refreeze.  So I had a window of a couple of days to do something with them (and all their liquid) before they went bad.  I’d already made jam, so that was out, and honestly sorbet was the only thing I could think of that would use up all the strawberries.  Plus sorbet was a more healthy option than, say, cake.

I’ve made vanilla ice cream, cinnamon ice cream, and chocolate mint chip ice cream, but never something fruit-based, like a sorbet.  Let me tell you, sorbet is way less work than ice cream! There are no egg yolks, no 24-hour cooling process and just four ingredients. The whole process only took about 35 minutes, and 20 minutes of that was the ice cream churning, during which I was folding clothes.

Strawberry Sorbet
From Joy of Baking

I thought about decreasing the amount of sugar, but decided not to because I remember reading that sugar doesn’t freeze (or something) so if you futz with it then your sorbet might get super-hard when it freezes.  Also, I doubled the recipe and didn’t have any problems in my 1.5 quart-capacity ice cream maker.

1/3 cup (80 ml) water

1/3 cup (65 grams) granulated white sugar

2 1/2 cups or 1 pound (454 grams) fresh or frozen unsweetened strawberries

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Place the sugar and water in a small saucepan, over low heat, and stir until the sugar is completely dissolved (about 3-5 minutes). Boil the mixture for one minute then remove from heat. Pour the sugar syrup into a heatproof container, and place in the refrigerator until completely chilled (about an hour or so).

Meanwhile, thaw the frozen strawberries and then place the thawed strawberries in a food processor and process until the strawberries are pureed. Transfer to a large bowl, add the lemon juice, and refrigerate until the mixture is thoroughly chilled. (If using fresh strawberries, puree the berries in the food processor, transfer to a large bowl, add the lemon juice, and place in the refrigerator until chilled.)

Once the simple syrup and pureed strawberries are completely chilled, combine the simple syrup with the pureed strawberries. Transfer the mixture to the chilled container of your ice cream machine and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Once made, transfer the sorbet to a chilled container and store in the freezer.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 10:24 am

    This looks really yummy! I may have to purchase an ice cream maker just to bring this recipe to life!

Leave a Reply

