Skip to content

Spring in the Garden

March 20, 2012

I’m in Cuidad de Antigua in Guatemala this week for a meeting.  Nate and I left last Friday to have a few days for some sight-seeing so hopefully I’ll be back next week with some fun pictures.  I travel a bunch for work, but this is the first time Nate’s come along and we’ve decided to make a mini-vacation out of it!

In the meantime, our garden is starting to show signs spring is here!  The mint is well-into its hostile takeover of the herb planter…

The blackberry bushes just started sprouting leaves…

[I was worried at the end of last summer that I’d managed to kill all the raspberry bushes, not unlike what happened to the blueberry bushes, but they have some small buds! ]

Saving the best for last, this is what I’m most excited about…

Ta-da!!!  Ladies and gentlemen, we have asparagus!  We planted this last year and didn’t eat it because it needed to form nice, deep roots which wouldn’t have been possible if we’d harvested the stalks.  In fact, I don’t know if we’re even supposed to eat the stalks this year.  It’s possible we’re supposed to wait one more year.  But we’ll see whether we can hold off.  I’ll tell you right now, it’s not promising!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

