Skip to content

Steel Cut Oatmeal

March 30, 2012

I’m wading through our Guatemala photos (from 3 different cameras), so in the meantime here’s something I made when I was attempting to use up the stuff in our cupboards.

Before this, I last made steel cut oatmeal in, um, 2008.  It is now 2012.  I still have the same container of steel cut oats.  I think it’s because they can take so much time to make, and of all the weekend breakfast options (bacon! biscuits! pancakes! cinnamon rolls!), oatmeal isn’t exactly a first choice.  If you’ve never had steel cut oatmeal before, you should give it a try.  It’s not as mushy as rolled oats, and the flavor is a little more nutty.  They also keep you full longer because there is more fiber (I think).

I like steel cut oats better than regular rolled oats, but they take a lot longer to cook.  You can’t cook steel cut oats in the microwave, and it has to bubble away on the stove for at least 45 minutes.

I find myself trying the oatmeal several times during the cooking process, and if I have to chew too much or they seem hard, then I just keep cooking them.  I also had some canned peaches in the cupboard that went nicely with the oatmeal.  I kept the leftovers in the fridge, and then I just spooned the amount I wanted that morning for breakfast into a container and took them to work. And brown sugar makes anything taste fantastic!

Steel Cut Oatmeal
(Adapted from Alton Brown)

I love the idea of toasting the oats in butter to help develop the nutty flavor.  I didn’t have any buttermilk on-hand, so I added some vinegar to regular milk to make buttermilk.   Honestly I don’t really get the point of the buttermilk, and if you’d rather just use regular milk (or cream or half-and-half), go for it.

1 tablespoon butter
1 cup steel cut oats
3 cups boiling water
1/2 cup  milk
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon low-fat buttermilk
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

In a large saucepot, melt the butter and add the oats. Stir for 2 minutes to toast. Add the boiling water and reduce heat to a simmer. Keep at a low simmer for 25 minutes, without stirring.

Combine the milk and half of the buttermilk with the oatmeal. Stir gently to combine and cook for an additional 20 minutes, or until the oats are soft. Spoon into a serving bowl and top with remaining buttermilk, brown sugar, and cinnamon.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

